You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 16 Will Not Happen Today - Temporary Delay

in #news8 years ago

STEEM is getting back to it's historic low again. Maybe dig deep and get some more, or just power up with a bunch that I have?

Sort:  

IMOH it will be even lower than that. But nobody knows where it will go, actually. The changes are for the better, though.

I hope everyone understands that this is a very important topic. Changing the power down period from 2 years to 90 days means that anyone with a lot of SP can lay hands on it at a greatly increased rate and ... do whatever with it. It will probably result in the price going down more, maybe a lot. The decision I'm facing is: why shouldn't I do the same? I've never powered down. I may not want to watch the value of something I have get reduced by 100%, 200%, 300%. Which might just happen.

That's always a risk. In any ecosystem, not just Steemit.

The more liquidity people have the more confident they are in an investment. To sell Steem someone has to buy it off you. You are being contradictory - on one hand you are "long" on SP on the other hand you are worried about paper losses in the future and therefore are questioning your "long" position? If SP was transferable I would be making a lot of deals to buy it right now ;) Good luck whatever you decide.

Recognizing more than one side of an issue isn't contradictory, it's being sensible about my own situation. I said, I've never powered down, but only because it wasn't the best option to do so. Powering down isn't selling unless you power down and sell. SP is only as valuable as the underlying STEEM behind it. If more people have more to STEEM to sell all of a sudden, and choose to do so, then the price is going down. My decision is whether or not to join in the 90 day power down or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56