Hardfork 16 Will Not Happen Today - Temporary Delay

in #news8 years ago (edited)


Today we were expected to see the highly touted hardfork 16, the one implementing some of the most drastic economical changes in the Steemit ecosystem. Because more time is needed to code and properly test all the features, the implementation has been delayed.

After digging through the code on github, I found this:

And then, a few comments below, this:

So it looks we'll have to wait. If you're curious what this hardfork is about, read the initial proposal from @dantheman here:

Proposed Changes To Steem Economy

I personally consider the hardfork very useful and I will adopt it in my witness server as soon as it is out, properly tested. Other people writing about this: @klye.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


If you think Im qualified, I invite you to vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Since I'm not yet in the first 50, you can just add my username dragosroua in the form at the bottom of that page and press vote.

Sort:  

A great dig :)

I am looking forward to the changes. They will bring some action to Steemitverse.

I'm not too disappointed it was delayed. That just means the Steem price will stay lower a while longer so I can accumulate more. And it's good to not rush things. Allowing time for proper testing, review, etc is important especially for changes like this one that will have a big impact.

Agree, it's good to have this throughly tested before using it in production.

STEEM is getting back to it's historic low again. Maybe dig deep and get some more, or just power up with a bunch that I have?

IMOH it will be even lower than that. But nobody knows where it will go, actually. The changes are for the better, though.

I hope everyone understands that this is a very important topic. Changing the power down period from 2 years to 90 days means that anyone with a lot of SP can lay hands on it at a greatly increased rate and ... do whatever with it. It will probably result in the price going down more, maybe a lot. The decision I'm facing is: why shouldn't I do the same? I've never powered down. I may not want to watch the value of something I have get reduced by 100%, 200%, 300%. Which might just happen.

That's always a risk. In any ecosystem, not just Steemit.

The more liquidity people have the more confident they are in an investment. To sell Steem someone has to buy it off you. You are being contradictory - on one hand you are "long" on SP on the other hand you are worried about paper losses in the future and therefore are questioning your "long" position? If SP was transferable I would be making a lot of deals to buy it right now ;) Good luck whatever you decide.

Recognizing more than one side of an issue isn't contradictory, it's being sensible about my own situation. I said, I've never powered down, but only because it wasn't the best option to do so. Powering down isn't selling unless you power down and sell. SP is only as valuable as the underlying STEEM behind it. If more people have more to STEEM to sell all of a sudden, and choose to do so, then the price is going down. My decision is whether or not to join in the 90 day power down or not.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47