South African Government

in #news7 years ago (edited)

South Africa is probably the only country in the world where you should take jokes about the government seriously.

A while back this meme was making rounds on social media

unnamed (1).jpg

People honestly thought this was a joke but as of April, they will increase the vat % from 14 - 15%. Sure this is not much but considering the amount of money the government has embezzled and that they are still paying Zuma a Salary of over a million ZAR, it's ridiculous that they expect the Citizens to repay the funds they removed.

We will now pay more for everything while companies are cutting down on quality and value to still be able to make the same amount of profit from the consumer.

Don't even let me get started on the fact that they made it legal for people to claim land without compensation.

My faith for the leadership of this country I love is destroyed.

Please 2019, toss all presidential elections, we don't want to vote anyone into power, South Africa needs to be single for a while.

Sort:  

If you do some reading you will see that violence would not be tolerated and they want more of a discussion and from what I read the land that they take will be state owned in the end anyway so not only are they taking the land away but not giving it to the rightful owner or whoever set the claim in, they reclaim the land for the state.

Hey @travelingsa who is actually going to stop the violence? The police? There will be violence involved. People would not just stand back and let them take their land.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I'm sorry @thegoldencookie but you need to get your facts straight.

No one ever stated to claim land by means of violence.. Even Julias Malema argues against this statement.

If you are truly a patriot and want to help South Africa.. correct the ignorant by spreading the truth!

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.za/2018/03/08/land-expropriation-this-is-a-debate-not-a-war-malema_a_23381138/

I'm sorry if you thought my statement was incorrect, I had recently read an article, now whether or not it was fake news, I do not know.

The point of my article was not about the land claim however. I merely mentioned it as yet another cause of my faith in our government failing.

I have rectified the mistake and thank you for pointing out my ignorant mistake. I'm sorry if I had caused any insult, it was not my intention.

I was only only venting about the increase in VAT and recent events

@thegoldencookie I have absolutely no problem with people voicing their opinion.. and I appreciate your reply.

The land claims is a very sensitive situation and we must be careful of what share with the world. They read this and see a bloodbath when the government is trying its hardest to keep this civilised / peaceful.. lets not add to the chaos but rather try and help South Africa where we can.

VAT increase sucks! I'm a systems analyst at a big retailer in South Africa.. Our company decided that we will absorb that cost and not adjust our prices.. But the chaos its causing internal to update all systems is rediculous!!

Have a blessed day!

If you are truly a patriot and want to help South Africa.. correct the ignorant by spreading the truth!

are you quoting me or plagirising?

That's terrible, especially the part about them being able to take land by force. I heard about that the other day and I am in the US. I hope in some way awareness leads to a solution. Hang in there

The statement is incorrect..

@sunnyofoz's statement wasn't incorrect. Taking land without compensation is taking it by force. The will after all be forcing people off of the land that they own.

We can debate this whole day.. and eventually end up on how people were forced from their homes and land to make way for old regime whites.. but this will just end up in a mud slinging contest.

Land compensation is a necessity.. the issue here is how its going to happen. For some reason everyone is making their own conclusions and not considering the facts..

Please take some time and read this article..
https://www.timeslive.co.za/politics/2018-03-14-land-expropriation-is-not-a-smash-and-grab-ramaphosa/

Great thegoldencookie nice post.

I love your dashboard and how you're able to keep things organized so as to track your progress.
I'm just curious how you're able to setup a pretty and decent dashboard for your activities on the Steem blockchain. Is this feature available to everyone? I'm still finding my way around here on Steemit.

Check my article about Hypocrisy of UK Ganja Policies

You can find the article here Hypocrisy of UK Ganja Policies

I will follow you!

Oh I hear you loud and clear and I share the sentiments. I am so sick of this country and their stupid rules and regulations and people can say what they want...this is going to cause a unnecessary war at the end of the day. We were born here and we will fight for what is ours.....
Let me rather keep my mouth shut. If I read the comments here ....my blood is boiling...lol

Everyone needs to vent sometime. Today was just one of those days and when my gym sent me a notification that my membership fee was going up because of the VAT, I took to steemit to vent out my frustration

Seems a political statement will get you lots of responses...

Well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58