Why are people seeing racism everywhere?!?

in #news7 years ago (edited)

H&M's image of black child in "coolest monkey" hoodie (Introduction)

Today I heard a story in English class about African kid who was advertising a hoodie which had a text "Coolest monkey in the jungle". So when i got home i decided I look some information about it. Firstly, i found some news about it, H&M had to delite all photos about it and apologized publicly. They said "“Monkey” has long been considered a racial slur directed to people of African descent". Secondly, twitter posts telling how offensive this ad was...
Source: http://www.actionnewsjax.com/news/clothing-company-apologizes-for-image-of-black-child-in-coolest-monkey-hoodie/679785229

a11.png

What I think about it?

Well, people are overreacting. When there would have been white boy, no one wouldn't had given fuck! I don't understand why people come to idea that monkey is a bad thing, he is our nearest relative. This kid parents had to agree with this ad... This means they think it wasn't racist and I think this is the most important thing.

My view of racism

I now racism exists and it is very big problem in certain countries. I have seen videos about racist acts and this really make me feel sad, but then there is imaginary racism. People tell: "anything you say to black people is racism" and I really don't like it. Like I wouldn't be suprised when someone would tell me, I am raicist because I stared a black man... I know lots of black people feel bad when they are called "ni**a". In Estona we use word "neeger" and it is the only way it is normal to say. I don't mean anything bad saying it, but when now some people say I am not allowed to use it, who is the victim? Me, because I am not allowed to speak in my mother language or people who feel offended?

Let me know your oppinion.
Feel free to follow and upvote
@OriginalWorks

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

I have a friend who is gay. And when we first met I was beyond careful in my attempts not to offend him. Then he blew my mind. He said and, I quote: "Man, stop being so weird about it, we grew up on the same block, seen the same fates and stories, just say it. Q***r, its easy. I'm not ashamed of what I am , the same way you dont get offended when I call you out for being an egoistic dick. Self acknowledgement. Very important :)

I think it is called friendship. But there is one thing, not all people take this so easily as he did. I just hope there will be more and more people like him in future. Best of luck!

Dude i could tell you that some people have opinions that you would laugh at probably and some ideas that you'd say what is the meaning of this kinda rubbish idea. I mean where do people get those ideas man? You say anything.. boom you're a racist, you say anything.. boom you're a rapist. You can't get that obviously but some fanatics do (in theire on ways i guess). You should just stay in the area that only your moral ethics can rule and nobody else's. Peace out!

Thank you for sharing your oppinion! followed back

Well here in America at least, everyone is off their f*ucking rockers. Everything is offensive, and we all spend the majority of our days walking on eggshells in fear that we might possibly say or do something that might be taken with offense. It's honestly exhausting.

I belive you and this is so wrong in our world right now. Makes no sense! Thank you for your time. Followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42