You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the TIDE turning? - Legalising Cannabis in the UK could raise £1 billion a year according to new report

in #news8 years ago

Personally I put cannabis on the save level as alcohol, which in the US and UK has been quite legal (outside the short prohibition stint here.) You really can't overdose on cannabis (short of asphyxiation) and I really don't see people doing the 'stupid/dangerous' things they do when drunk while high. Imo it really doesn't make sense for it to be illegal between all the medicinal benefits and the preference for those recreational users. No one ever uses the excuse 'I only did that stupid act because I was high' yet all it's common for those who are drunk.

I should add I'm fine with it being regulated like alcohol, some age limit. But in all honesty, this ban on cannabis has been drawn out by the the industries that it competes with first as hemp, ropes and other materials, now the pharmaceutical industry. Every state it's been opened recreationally has seen the opiod overdoses drastically drop. They make more money off us incessantly popping pills, even though they are way more risky and addictive.

Anyway, just my two cents on the matter. lol

Sort:  

Very good points - I think I covered many of these in my old post. Nothing is risk free and I'm not saying cannabis is fine for everyone but it would be safer to license it as you say like alcohol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27