You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Economic Truth about Solar Panels No One is Talking About

in #news7 years ago

What you are saying is true. This is exactly what happened a few years ago, China had the main component made in Hong Kong to get out of levies for dumping charges leveled against them, this way it made it seem like they were made in Hong Kong. When the government found out they levied some more stuff on them and China just turned around and raised the price on the materials for the panels they were importing from the US. It's a never ending circle of cat and mouse game.

This past summer I bought a air conditioner for the first time in my life. I couldn't believe the incredible low cost of a energy efficient air conditioner. I didn't notice made in China on the box, not that I was looking for it I gave that up years ago when shopping for clothes I found myself spending more time looking for labels then trying on the clothes and doing all the rest of my shopping combined. (Though that is getting better now, most American manufacturers have gone to placing pricing on cards with a made in USA logo) I sat there thinking about a article I read this past summer about how Chinese workers are treated. Most live in dormitories on the companies property, most in just rooms with bunk beds that can be stacked as high as fifteen to a room. They work sixteen hour days or more, and room, board and utility costs are deducted from their checks. I was having a hard time comprehending that someone else could be living under those conditions to make my life more comfortable at a cheaper cost. I really felt frustrated with myself for just grabbing at something off a shelf then trying to justify it by comparison to what it'd be like looking for clothes but the fact was I didn't even try and I should have, I shouldn't have forgotten what it must be like for them. Because you see this wasn't about justifying giving up looking for increasingly vanishing clothes labels in a bid to support my countries fellow citizens....this time it was because of the way that people are treated and we shouldn't be letting any manufacturer get away with profiting that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49