If it bleeds, it leadssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #news8 years ago (edited)

The brains of humans and other animals contain a mechanism that is designed to give priority to bad news.- from Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman



Dan Ariely Quote
Image Source


In my last post, TIL: Richard Thaler Is “The Father” Of Behavioral Economics, I wrote about how Richard Thaler used the endowment effect and the idea of loss aversion to explain why humans sometimes behave irrationally.

As for my own loss aversion, I am reluctant to promote post because I am more focused on the loss of my limited Steem Dollars, especially since I elect 100% Steem Power payouts, rather than viewing it as a place to potentially gain much more than I spend.

Mostly I think I wanted to mention that because of a recent @papa-pepper article I read that reminded me of the promoted post tab.

Yes I forgot about it.

Even since the addition of the “home” page rather than just a common trending page, I mostly only look at my feed and don’t explore the other tabs.

“As @smooth said, “Most people won't spend money to promote junk posts,””

The problem I have with this statement is everyone is bias.

I think my post is good because I wrote it.” is likely the thought of most steemians, with the obvious exceptions of people who are intentionally spamming or acting deceitfully.

People who promote, and most people who post, probably are anticipating a reward, and as for promoters a reward larger than the cost to get attention.

But to be fair on the other hand, sometimes I never spend a steem cent on a post and end up way ahead.

Hence why some people consider this place a lottery.

Anyways, that’s not why you're here….

The brain responds quickly even to purely symbolic threats. Emotionally loaded words quickly attract attention, and bad words (war, crime) attract attention faster than do happy words (peace, love). There is no real threat, but the mere reminder of a bad event is treated ... as threatening.- from Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

Ergo, “If it bleeds, it leads.”



Image Source


This also extends to the reason politics is such a popular topic in the news:

The sensitivity to threats extends to the processing of statements of opinions with which we strongly disagree. For example, depending on your attitude to euthanasia, it would take your brain less than one-quarter of a second to register the “threat” in a sentence that starts with “I think euthanasia is an acceptable/unacceptable...”- from Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

We react to bad news.

Now our reactions are manifest as clicks.


Tool - Vicarious




What can we do now that we are more aware of our loss aversion?

Loss aversion refers to the relative strength of two motives: we are driven more strongly to avoid losses than to achieve gains. A reference point is sometimes the status quo, but it can also be a goal in the future: not achieving a goal is a loss, exceeding the goal is a gain. As we might expect from negativity dominance, the two motives are not equally powerful. The aversion to the failure of not reaching the goal is much stronger than the desire to exceed it.- from Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

It appears to me that a reasonable readjustment of your own reference point, mentally or otherwise, would set you up for a better assessment of the outcomes.

Or maybe just learning to better deal with loss.

I don’t know. What do you think?


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because nobody makes me bleed my own blood.


Please check out my recent post:


P.S. Before you go, do you have Student Loans and are looking for ways to save money?

I recommend Credible.

Use my link to get $200 !


Use Credible to Get $200

Sort:  

Good article, but my reason for not promoting is I don't think my articles are worth promoting. I just write about my ideas, and mostly I am writing to myself, I don't think many people are interested in them, and my rewards so far prove it. In fact I think all my upvotes are from bots, because I always get the same 9 votes from the same users, I am sure some are bots I really don't know if all of them are.

I get that.

Realistically that is what most post here turn out, but my beef is the sales pitch for steemit is that it is a place to earn for posting rather than the competition.

But that aside, I think post can do well on their own merit, but timing, trails, tags, topics, and so much more play into it.

I am here because I like to write out my thoughts, like feedback, want community, and am motivated by the reward potential.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great post Michael and very interesting . Upvoted and following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40