Virginia Tech Wins Season Opener Against West Virginia At FedEx Field! 🏈steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

This weekend I traveled to FedEx Field, the home of the Washington Redskins, to see my alma mater, Virginia Tech take on West Virginia in an epic start to the college football season. 

The match up between the VT Hokies and WVU Mountaineers is an old rivalry that hasn't been seen in 12 years. The last time the two teams met was in 2005. Previously the teams had played each other over 50 times for the Black Diamond Trophy. The rivalry basically ended in 2005 due to college team conferences changing. Both teams belonged to the Big East Conference until 2003. VT now belongs to the ACC (Atlantic Coast Conference), while WVU is in the Big 12 Conference. 

The game was great to watch, each team responding when the other scored. The first half of the game was a fight between defenses, while in the second half the offenses battled it out. 

In the end, Virginia Tech walked away with a win! the final score was 31-24.

Tailgating with my fellow Hokie Alumni! 

The Hokies and Mountaineers face off on FedEx Field.

@curiouser and I having fun in the crowd.


Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  Pictures taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4.  I release everything under CC0.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com  

 My Previous Post 👉 Cryptocurrency Donations To Help Texas Hurricane Victims - Over $50k Donated So Far!

Sort:  

Take my 100% upvote from fellow Hokie alum.

Hokie Love On Steemit!

Class of 95. I was there when the bowl streak started.

So jealous, I really thought about going and then decided to be cheap and watch it at home. haha. I was about to throw my beer through the TV when we missed those field goals

Congratulation:) Very Beautiful photo its amazing
thank you for sharing @slickwilly:)

Thanks! Glad you liked the photos!

Looks like you had a great time bro! Love the photos. Got any plans to go to anymore games NFL or college this year?

It was! I will probably go to another Hokie game this year. I hit 2 Redskins games last year. Time will tell if I will make it to an NFL game this year. Tickets can be pricey and I am addicted to buying STEEM LOL.

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you

What a game and thanks for the inside view! I watched on TV and the Hokie fans were going nuts!! I wish we could get these fans there when my Redskins play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64