You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Waiting for the bus ... and some general thoughs on silly planning

in #news5 years ago

lol.

Some would of course say that this would be better solved by not spending public money at all. Of course, if a profit-driven bus company was in charge of the waiting facilities, they would most likely come up with something better than this.

I was born and raised in the mountains of Austria. There, a bus company would not even go to the small villages if it was purely profit-driven, and I guess it's similar in nothern Norway.

Sort:  

its happening here aswell and other parts of the globe, cutting of access to farmland and rural areas where people live sadly but its part of agenda 21

Correct - but then again, is public transport really a human right?

My mother built a cabin on an island, and some years ago I was visiting it during a regular working day (my intention was to visit my mother there in the weekend, but I had no engine and it wasn't any wind, so I came there too late. At least they left beer in the fridge for me). I left my vessel behind and took public transport back to town. First a short trip by ferry. I was the only person on the ferry, and it's going only twice a day. I think the ticket costed me something like 3 EUR, while the ferry operator gets like 150 EUR for each trip. Since I was the only person on the ferry, I guess it means the ferry is going empty on most of its trips (that's also a stupidity). At the other side I continued by bus - a big bus with 50 seats, and me being the only passenger on the bus for more than half an hour until it stopped at some bus terminal, with lots of passengers on the next bus.

In urban areas I'm all for more public transport and less cars in the streets, and I do think we need some solutions for people who cannot or don't want to own or drive a car even at the country side - but it should be possible to come up with some smarter solutions than running around with empty or nearly-empty buses and ferries in the rural areas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43