KFC Starts Using Facial Recognition To Predict What You’ll Like

in #news8 years ago

Image Credits

Technology never ceases to surprise us. When we finally think that we have seen it all, along comes an entirely new hi tech way of doing things that leave you with disbelief. 



This time, it is a KFC restaurant in Beijing that has started using facial recognition technology to predict what customers will like and order based on how they look.



Obviously one might think that it is quite unpredictable what a person might order because our food choices depend on a multitude of factors. Sometimes it is even just on a whim!



Image Credits

That is correct, but that doesn’t stop corporates from deploying newer technologies to maybe speed things up a little. Sometimes, said tech can also be used as a marketing tool to lure people to try it out.



The facial recognition software in the KFC restaurant scans a customer’s face and tries to estimate her mood along with age and gender and then guesses and suggests what she would like to order.



Also, it can remember you and your preference for the next time you decide to visit the restaurant and will suggest whatever you ate the previous time.



The tech is a collaboration between KFC and Baidu (the Chinese search engine firm) and they plan to roll this tech out to 5000 more KFC restaurants across China. 




Source: http://bgr.com/2017/01/20/facial-recognition-kfc-china/

Sort:  

LOL
@pfunk your order of chicken Butts is ready for pick up at the counter. Thank you for visiting KFC.

Time to mask up if I ever go by KFC. Glad I don't eat there last time was around 9 +years ago not one I cared for.

Yeah, I find KFC .... mediocre.

wow pretty impressive tech

Yeah it is. But I don't necessarily understand to what means exactly.

Wow, what will companies think of next? I've seen some restaurants where the menu is entirely digital, forcing you to order via an iPad app, but this is taking things to a whole new level. I'm not sure I'm comfortable with having a computer program guess what I like to eat...

ordering via iPads is pretty cool. But I find this tech kind of gimmicky.

Same here. I like the philosophy "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". Fancy tech is all well and good, but it shouldn't be introduced simply for the sake of having fancy tech. I suppose the iPad ordering system is meant to reduce the work of waiters / waitresses, but nothing is more annoying than spending a bunch of time ordering, then having the stupid app crash and having to wait for the restaurant staff to reset the system and then try inputting your order all over again... argh. And when you try to just tell them what you want, they're like "nope, you have to use the app"

haha, I absolutely agree with the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" thing. Unfortunately, lately that is all the corporations seem to be doing!

Wow, Beijing leapfrogging USA in this way. Bit like Amazon Go but bit scary where this is going too.

haha yeah. I agree. There is a bit "scary" feeling with this kind of tech that involves predicting our actions. The robots are becoming smarter !!! :P

oooooh fuck you all blowing corporations, we want your brains , we want to stimulate you, fucking voo d yeah , pushers of laced chicken for all I care
saw glasses that track your eyes last year when I visited LIDL out of the blue, so yeah market my ass and those chinese will always fall for that , Hate those new tech, anything that forces you to go with the flock is unnatural , I don't like face scans , even if people get robbed, take a picture , that's enough of that , what's up with us, CCTV cams for everyone , everyone carries a potential bug with them :D , and everybody is happy, just wow , I should become a sales agent , I'm not sure how those tech won't be used for harm , that's my problem , the hint of mass control that can be implemented , once everything is streamlined into one single item , all your contacts , your finance, your dealings , if that happens I would probably become a monk if there are any left after China finishes frying the chickens :D played too many sci-fi steampunk games to be ok with technology :D maybe maybe

followed all in the comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52