You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Senile Supreme Court Justice Calls For Repeal Of 2nd Amendment, Demonstrates Ignorance Of History

in #news6 years ago

I have gone backwards and forwards on this. I would say I am still on the fence. I'm not American so my opinion isn't really valid.

A couple of things:

  1. People don't understand that it's just not a matter of banning a gun as an item. I think for a lot of American citizens they view the gun as a symbolic representation of their freedom.

  2. Instead of just opposing guns, why don't people come up with a viable solution. Anyone can march and say 'no more guns' but just like protesting climate change, why don't you come up with a viable solution?

  3. I actually don't think that there is much opposition from gun enthusiasts to make some legal changes around ARs, I think if the focus is on a certain type of gun there can be some consensus.

Sort:  

Those are excellent points. On your third point though, the fear is that if you start restricting, you open the door for more and more until all are banned. That is often the way the government gets what they want; a little bit toward the goal over a long period of time...

Yes! I was going to mention this. I was thinking something that could perhaps work is once new legislation is passed, their is a clause that no further legislation pertaining to guns can be penned until x date or with x factors. This would provide some more comfort. In theory sounds okay but not sure how it would go in practice.

How can you possibly be "on the fence" about a policy that takes away your rights, gives it to people who want to hurt and steal from you, increases crime and renders you a hopeless victim to same?

When you see a red light in traffic, are you "on the fence" about stopping and not fucking killing yourself and others?

I should be more clear, I am most certainly against this proposal, on the broader topic I am on the fence re; some form of legislation but not outright banning.

No. 3 is incorrect. The national media claims this to be true, but the fact is that the AR is by far the most popular gun in America. There is huge opposition to further restrictions of that particular gun, and it is the first to sell out at gun stores every time there is another push to restrict it. That is why there are now many companies that produce it, including some companies that produce ARs and AR accessories exclusively.

Interesting, I didn't know that thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65