Sort:  

Seeds normally have a 2-3 year shelf-life. However, if you freeze the, they can last 5 years or more. Hence the seed vault in the great frozen tundra.

9mm would be for self-defense. It doesn't have the range or impact for hunting, unless you get up really close (relatively speaking). You could get a .308 or 30-30 in an AR-15 style instead of bolt action. That would give you a good hunting gun and a self-defense gun. However, I wouldn't use it as a home intruder gun in normal times, because the bullet would probably go places you don't want it to go.

I have an AR-15 in .223, but have been thinking of getting a good old 30-30 winchester or marlin. Much more stopping power and surprisingly ammo is not much more expensive. I have 2 9mm pistols and a .45, but yea .45 ammo is much more expensive.

I know there is a great debate between 9mm and .45.

I see it this way.

  1. Cheaper cost of 9mm
  2. More available, due to the cheaper cost
  3. Lighter and larger capacity magazines

If your aim is good, even a .22 will kill, but I would rather be sure with a 9.
Having a bullpup or sub-machine gun using 9mm and possibly the same magazine, just adds to the usefulness of the caliber.

How I would equip myself.

  1. 9mm pistol (compact) - 6/7 rounds
  2. 9mm pistol (full-size) - 15 rounds
  3. 12 gauge pump shotgun - 7 rounds
  4. lever action .308 rifle - 5-7 rounds
  5. 9mm bull pup/sub rifle - 30+ rounds

If I can't get all the jobs done with that setup, then the job is too big for one person. ;)