Ice skating - The way for Dutchies to get to work

in #news6 years ago

You learn something new every day, don't you?

When I was younger, my mum used to watch speed skating on television during winter. There are plenty of competitions, national and international, so there were many weekends to watch it. I remember watching it with her with a cup of hot chocolate in my hands.

Later, when I lived in my own home, I kept watching speed skating on tv. It was a very relaxing way to spend my weekend. I would just watch, drink tea and during the longer distances, I would sit on the couch with a Sudoku or Binairo puzzle book in my hands.

These last couple of years, I've not been watching it a lot, but this week, my boyfriend turned on the tv to watch the Olympics while he's sick. He wanted something not too exciting to watch and figured I'd like to see the speed skating. I'm happy he did this, because I do still enjoy watching it from time to time.

Anyway, today, my boyfriend mentioned a little piece of news he saw on 9gag. I'm a couple of days behind on this news, but apparently, according to America's Katie Couric, the Dutch often ice skate to work during winter. This is what she said during the Olympic opening ceremony:

Couric said the Dutch had won so many medals on the speed skating oval because ‘skating is an important mode of transportation in a city like Amsterdam which sits at sea level.’

‘As you all know, it has lots of canals that can freeze in the winters,’ Couric continued. ‘So, for as long as those canals have existed, the Dutch have skated on them to get from place to place, to race each other, and also to have fun.’

Source

I did not know this about my country, did you? I am very amazed too! I mean, with lots of luck, we might get a few days where we can do some ice skating in open air, but other than that? Amsterdam sure is a special place.

I wonder how many people actually believed her. Even better, I wonder how many people thought the exact same way, even before she spoke it out loud.

Ofcourse, plenty of tweets arrived after this, explaining to her that No, we do not skate to work during winter. Some were serious:

Others, not so much:


This makes me wonder, how many people think clogs / wooden shoes are our preferred type of shoes?

When I was a little kid, about 20 years ago, we did have more cold days, so there was a higher chance to skate on nature ice from time to time. I remember learning to skate on the little bit of water behind our house. We even had our own nature ice skating rink in our small town. The last couple of years though, I doubt they were even able to open up for one day.

Our skaters will mostly have to train in indoor ice rinks while they're in the Netherlands and they'll practice other sports to stay fit aswell. They did not grow up on skates during daily life, because Dutch don't live on ice. I'll go so far as to say they are like any other top athlete and they train their asses off for their success.

So no, we don't skate to work. We would be in trouble most days of the year. Besides that, we are a little more advanced than that and have heard of cars, bikes and public transport.

Nice try though.




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I always stick a tulip behind my ear when I go skating on my way to photographing windmills in winter. I have a pair of clogs in my backpack for walking about, of course.

Of course, don't we all?

haha I don't watch the olympics, so I would've missed this little gem. Thanks for posting this. Skating to work. The very idea. How ignorant can a person be right.

I think there's a general misconception about what we WERE known for in history in regards to current times.

I think there's a general misconception about what we WERE known for in history in regards to current times.

Yeah, I think so too! Quite sad that a reporter of all people will be so missinformed though.

well, I guess that just goes to show the state of current journalism ... no wonder #fakenews is a thing ... integrity, objectiveness and fact checking is nowhere to be found nowadays.

The "Rush Hour in the Netherlands" photo made me laugh :D
I don't understand how anyone can believe that.

The "Rush Hour in the Netherlands" photo made me laugh :D

Me too! There really were a lot of funny replies floating around :D
I don't understand it really, especially from a reporter.

When it is said by a reporter, it must be the truth! I guess, she tasted some weed from the Netherlands :D

Well... the people from the capital of my country think that I and other people from the countryside go to places on wagons... i never even rode a wagon in my life

people from the capital of my country think that I and other people from the countryside go to places on wagons

In a country like Portugal? That's so sad, as if you wouldn't have heard of cars and such.

Cars? You mean those moving boxes?? That's dark magic to me... i only know what wagons and cows are

Thanks for sharing memories..
It was good to read..

our mother try as much as possible to give courage for success in life

Really beautiful memories wish you happiness in your life

Dear steemer,
nice post and I followed you :) Please follow me :)

Hehe in the Summer, take your bike to work. In the Winter, take your skates and skate to work :p

I know that in some areas of Quebec, people take their Skidoos to work.

I had to google that one! I guess that might be safer than a car in very snowy/icy areas, so that makes sense :D

Yeah. It'a basically skis you sit on ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55