Geraldo Rivera - out of touch elitist

in #news6 years ago

Geraldo was on Fox News the other day making the case for immigration. His argument was immigrants do the jobs Americans refuse to do, like mowing lawns, cleaning, nannies, etc.

While I strongly favor legal immigration, these elitist arguments drive me crazy.

Why?

I am a small business person. Guess what, I frequently have to clean toilets. I might not enjoy it, but it is part of running a successful business and creating a nice environment for my customers. American citizens proudly mow my lawns. Lots of Americans I know earned their first dollars baby sitting.

As Geraldo looks down his long elitist nose at people who do this work - surely they must be less then human (well American human), what he does not realize is a lot of ordinary Americans have to do these mundane tasks every day.

His views are not just elitist, they are down right racist.

Does he think so little of the "low lifes" that are not American citizens, that he believes all they can do is mow lawns and scrub toilets. That is simply insulting to so many highly skilled professionals - Doctors, Programmers, Business People, Entertainers, etc.

In the same conversation he is saying how great it is that unemployment (especially black and hispanic unemployment) are at all time lows and their wages are growing. Yet he is arguing to bring in lots of people to compete at the "low" end of the market and drive the wages of America's lowest earners down - hitting a whole new level of racism and economic ignorance.

I am sure Geraldo would argue he is not a racist, after all the elite are never racists. I am sure his arguments make perfect sense on the cocktail circuit. My answer to him would be that I do not believe you are a racist - but some of the views you espouse are. Play them back to yourself slowly and think about it. Talk to (not at or down to) real Americans.

I strongly support LEGAL immigration - but elites like Geraldo do not help the cause.

Sort:  

I don't like the argument that Geraldo is making. I think the better argument for legal immigration is: Americans can do all jobs competitively as compared to the rest of the world. But they cannot do them all at once. Allowing others to come in and take up certain jobs frees up others to specialize and become more efficient at higher paying jobs.

That's comparative advantage you are talking about. Comparative advantage allows others to specialize, and enhances the division of labor. Allows others to spend more time on what they are best at, which helps consumers and the overall economy.

I understand what you are saying, but not everyone is able to specialize. It is simply not fair to flood the market with people to drive their wages down.

I think Ted Cruz said it best:

"I can tell you, it's a very personal economic issue. And I will say the politics of it would be very, very different if a bunch of lawyers or bankers were crossing the Rio Grande," Cruz narrated in the ad as a bunch of men in suits comically cross the US' southern border.

"Or if a bunch of people with journalism degrees were coming over and driving down the wages in the press," he continued. "Then we would see stories about the economic calamity that is befalling our nation."

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-0-0 I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a

The content of your post is very interesting, I really admire it ..
And I always support your success

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Excellent contribution thanks for sharing with us is an interesting post congratulations very good job

He should be used as a brush to clean toilets with.

With that moustache , , ,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46