You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Wrong Wit Yer News: Youtube now shows disclaimer for RT stating "funded in whole or in part by the Russian government" but does not show such disclaimer on Presumably State Department Channel

in #news6 years ago

I just looked at the clips you embedded and there was no sign of the "funded by the Russian government" disclaimer, so it must be a US govt thing. I'm in Scotland. Our government is talking about having RT taken off air (hope you don't mind me linking to one of my own posts – it is relevant).
The BBC is much more subtle about government control. It's funded by a public licence fee. I don't pay the licence fee, because I don't watch TV. As a result, I receive threatening letters in the post on a weekly basis, written in angry red text, warning me of the dire consequences if I'm caught watching TV in my home.
The BBC board has been accused of being primarily government appointees. Like RT, the BBC broadcasts all over the world. I think it should be up to viewers and listeners to decide which one is spouting most propaganda.

Sort:  

yea, maybe us law, or other nonsense, thanks for the info, I can post screen shots if you want, if they still look like that, havent checked since posted about. I just dont understand why not also having the disclaimer for us, like NPR and PBS?

Well, screenshots aren't necessary because I certainly believe they're doing this. And they probably will do it in the UK soon too, unless they just take RT off air altogether! Though I don't know how they would do that. Soviet style media censorship maybe? Hmm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44