World's Largest Aircraft Completed Its Maiden Voyage

in #news8 years ago (edited)

One week ago, the world's biggest airship took its maiden flight over an airfield in central England.
Lovingly nicknamed, 'The Flying Bum', this hybrid looks like a butt, can travel at a respectable 90 mph (150kph), and can stay in the air for up to two weeks! After the accidents with airships in the thirties, the technology has been completely abandoned. I love these new prototypes! I'm convinced that there is a big market to be discovered here.

Like many of our innovations, the history of this bootylicious airship is traced back to the military. They were interested in using these for high altitude reconnaisance and for mobile communications.
I don't know why, but this reminded me of the Zerg overlords in Starcraft. Or is that too geeky for you all?

The future of luxurious air travel?

I'm imagining full blow cruise ships within 20 years. Imagine having a swim in the see-through pool while being a couple of thousand feet up in the air! Or enjoying your dinner while looking out over the wide expanse of the Amazon.
Of course the luxury yachts will follow suit. The hyper-rich will have their own mansions in the sky. Although we'll have to find a way to supply these floating houses.
Connect a few of this airships and you practically have a floating village. Does airspace fall under the same category as 'international waters'?

One person who's committed to the idea is the lead singer of Iron Maiden. He has already announced it wants to fly this new airship around the world!

Sources:
http://airshipcruises.com/luxury-airship/luxury-halo-airship/
http://www.mnn.com/green-tech/transportation/stories/lead-singer-for-iron-maiden-to-pilot-hybrid-airship-around-the

Sort:  

It looks like a big butt in the sky! I wanna get on it! Didn't know this existed - thanks!

Who wouldn't want to go on a ride in a flying butt! Can't wait :)

That would be so cool to see , I cant wait until one is set up like a cruise liner.. #NoOneMentionHindenburg

I award you with the 'most brilliant hashtag of the day' award!
Good on you, sir!

WOW!
Its like a cruise ship in the air!
Luxurious and efficient!
Thanks for this AWESOME POST! I would not have been aware of this if I were not following you and you posted on STEEMIT!
Yet another reason why being involved here on Steemit is so valuable!
Thanks for the value you contribute!
Blessings~*~

I'm guessing the biggest test will be how they withstand violent weather systems. Staying aloft for up to two weeks, they are going to encounter them.

I'm thinking advanced weather systems so they can stay out of the way. Or go up high enough, although that might freeze over the pool though :)

I am glad it wasn't just me that speed a big old butt in the sky!! Good article, I love hearing about new, or innovative takes on old tech

Sounds like Iron Maiden is gonna go full Dethklok! I'd pay a lot for a concert in the sky hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44