PSA: What You Need to Know in STEEM v0.19.0

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Earilier today Steemit.com's back end software was updated to STEEM v0.19.0 and with it comes a change in the way post/comment rewards are calculated as well as the potential maximum weight of your votes will be increased dramatically!

Changes in v0.19.0 & The Effects

First off.. The voting power weight increased by 4x coupled with the flattening of the reward curve looks more like a 25x increase in voting power it seems! I know I could upvote a comment from $0.000 to ~&0.740 and now I can vote it to over $20.000 ... WOW.

However with this increased availability in voting weight you'll burn through your voting power that much faster. You can use up to 2% of your entire voting weight per a post at 100% vote weight and only recover 20% over 24 hours..

You get ten 100% votes a day, more and you won't be able to recharge it fast enough. Each 100% vote now costs you 2% total voting power.

On top of the voting weight and reward curve flattening you'll also receive larger curation rewards as well given the new found voting power. By the sound of it a new vote slider for the GUI may see it's way onto the site in the next little while as for whale status accounts even a 1% vote may be a bit much given the changes! Have a wonderful day everyone!


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

I was thinking about whales and they should be able to vote with less than 1% especially those that curate a lot! A 1% vote could be massive!

Yep! Sounds like a slider with 0.01% to 0.99% is coming in the near future..!

That seems like the most logical solution!!

Also more of a reason for minnows and dolphins to even use the slider!

This may sound as a stupid question. But, how do I use the slider? Matter of fact, where is the slider? I've been on Steemit for 2 weeks now. Never have I seen a slider. Am I stupid or is there something I do not know?

@adnanrahic: You get the slider after you accrue 500 steem power

Ooh. Now that makes sense. Thank you. :)

My 1% vote give out a pack of cigs right now.

Or a 12 pack of cheap beer!


gross beer

Now you can almost go buy 2 flats of that shit and get rekt!

I can't believe they are even allowed to label this as "premium brew"

lol! It's all in the advertising.

Absolutely! This guy must work for the company

This is very informative. Great work mr @klye and congratulations on the great success on Steemit!

I think it is perfect for the whales and minnows.

It's a step forward in my opinion as well!

I'm currently really impressed by this whole platform.
Even though you can earn money by just doing something thats fun to you like writing a post I have the feeling that most of the community are here for fun and meeting people, spreading their ideas and creativity.

And thanks to people like you who make it easy to stay on track, missing no news.
Really. Thanks for that!
Greetings and good vibes
Malick Sidibe
-Sidibeat (Check it out, its fun :P )

Welcome to STEEM man!

Thanks for having me :) Ahm you seem like someone who really knows how all this works here :D If I may ask a question:
Is it possible to write a private message to a person without the steem.chat?

The possibility exists on the back end software but this Steemit.com GUI doesn't facilitate it.

Try http://Busy.org - It's another STEEM network browser. :) They have messaging options!

Haha perfekt,
Thanks a lot! Have a good one :)

How can I choose % of my vote, I did not see such a function on the Steemit?

When you get to a certain amount of SP you get a vote slider!

Looks like I am very small minnow to get a slider😢

Thanks and I already voted for you!! I always like your information

Thanks Tammy! :)

You are so very welcome!!!

thanks for the explanation

@klye
you have my vote already...

@sevinwilson
you on point...the new guys should be allowed to earn enough to encourage them as the foot soldiers...imaging i had over 100 upvotes on my post and still the earnings was less than 20$...all the efforts to work hard and gain followers in few days and no voting power...but am hopeful things will improve as such am voting Klye...
Pls guys visit my blog and support my first 2 new posts...thanks

My 100% vote used to be 2 cents and now I cam see it up to 13 cents wow!!

Right?! Very impressive!

I saw it was 49 cents somewhere else then I came to realise that 13 cents wasn't 100% upvoted.... Omg!! Where this is going

I gave you a modest 3% upvote to stay on the safe side.

I gave a $0.000 comment a 100% vote for testing... and it ended up worth something like $23.000 0_0

Feel free to "test" that theory on me as well. Haha!!

my 100% vote get's me in between 4~5$.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17