Did Elon Musk just announce Tesla plans to compete against Uber?

in #news8 years ago (edited)

In Tesla's recent blog post titled "Master Plan, Part Deux", did Elon Musk just hint at potentially competing against Uber with his driverless cars?:

"You will also be able to add your car to the Tesla shared fleet just by tapping a button on the Tesla phone app and have it generate income for you while you're at work or on vacation, significantly offsetting and at times potentially exceeding the monthly loan or lease cost. This dramatically lowers the true cost of ownership to the point where almost anyone could own a Tesla. Since most cars are only in use by their owner for 5% to 10% of the day, the fundamental economic utility of a true self-driving car is likely to be several times that of a car which is not.

In cities where demand exceeds the supply of customer-owned cars, Tesla will operate its own fleet, ensuring you can always hail a ride from us no matter where you are."

Read the rest of Tesla's master plan here:

https://www.tesla.com/blog/master-plan-part-deux

Sort:  

Cool stuff, but I think he should focus on Hyperloop first.

He made his design public and another company is building it. He said he doesn't have enough time.

Actually it sounds more like he wants to compete with car sharing companies like Zipcar and Turo. I have used both and it's a great experience and concept. It's super inefficient and wasteful to own your own car in any kind of metropolitan city. I'm a big fan of UberPool as well. Thanks for the post.

Could be. I am a big fan of Elon and a close watcher of his companies, more SpaceX to be fair as it's more groundbreaking than Tesla/SolarCity I think.
I even read the book about him and I had the chance to understand more about him.

Thanks for the article kev!

I vote your post and I ask please that you see my post https://steemit.com/crowdfunding/@webocel/58kd3g-my-dream-needs-your-vote-crowdfunding with your vote I can put my business and thus have a job and be able to feed my children. With just a few clicks you can change my life.
(voting this comment you are also helping)
sorry for the spam but I'm desperate for funds to be self employed
Thanks in advance. Nicolas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36