Actor Chow Yun-fat to Donate His Entire $714 Million Fortune

in #news5 years ago

 

Actor Chow Yun-fat of the famous movie Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, revealed in a recent interview that he plans on donating his entire $714 million fortune to charity after he dies. Chow told Jayne Stars, “My  dream is to be a happy and normal person. The hardest thing in life is  not about how much money you earn, but how to keep a peaceful mindset  and live the rest of your life in a simple and carefree manner.” Chow said that the money is not even technically his, but something that he is a custodian of during his lifetime.

“This money isn’t something you possess forever. When you’re gone  one day, you have to leave it to others to use it. The money’s not  mine. I’m only keeping it safe for the time being,” he said. Chow is known to live an extremely frugal lifestyle and claims to shop at thrift stores. “I don’t wear clothes for other people. As long as I think it’s comfortable, then it’s good enough for me,” the actor said. 

 “I am happy if there’s food to eat, because we were  quite poor then. I’ll be very happy eating sweet potatoes and  vegetables, and even happier if I have chicken and meat during the new  year,” he added. Chow has also recently been censored by the Chinese government for his support of civil rights groups in Hong Kong. Though it does happen every now and then, it is rare for celebrities to hand over so much of their wealth.

Sam Simon, the writer and producer who helped create the legendary television show The Simpsons, left his entire $100 million fortune to charity after passing away from cancer in 2015. While Simon donated to many causes, animal rights was the single most important issue to the late writer and producer. “A lot of it is selfish, I get to watch these animals that have  been in concrete bunkers their whole life, I get to watch them take  their first steps on grass, I get to fly my friends out. They’re  dependent on us for that, and so I feel that it’s my responsibility to  speak for those who can’t speak for themselves,” he said. Simon founded the Sam Simon Foundation, an organization that specializes in helping service dogs.

More recently, details surfaced linking actor Keanu Reeves to a secret cancer foundation to fund children’s hospitals. “I have a private foundation that’s been running for five or six  years, and it helps aid a couple of children’s hospitals and cancer  research,” Keanu said in a Ladies Home Journal article from 2009. 

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's always nice hearing stories like these. I didn't know that Chow Yun-fat was like that. I really like his outlook/mindset and living a simple life. I also like what he said about not possessing the money forever and only keeping it safe for the time being. That's pretty cool.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78