Am I misunderstanding the 2nd Amendment? Do the American people know their government has gone rogue?

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Following the Parkland School shooting on the 14th February in Florida, H.R.5087 was introduced to the House of Representatives on the 26th of February with the short title "Assault Weapons Ban of 2018".

Considering that I think that the Parkland shooting was another false flag designed to bring in gun control I wouldn't be surprised if this bill was drafted before the shooting in the same way that I believe that the Patriot Act was drafted before 9/11 but I digress.

For those unaware of what the 2nd amendment says, here it is in all its glory.

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Since I am asking whether I am misunderstanding the 2nd amendment, here is the way I understand it and also the way I think the founding fathers meant it.

The American people should have the means to be able to fight back against a tyrannical state or government and that means that they need to be able to arm themselves with weapons that do not give those acting on behalf of said state/government an advantage over them.

If the police or army can knock on (or knock down) your door armed with assault rifles, the American people should be able to arm themselves with assault rifles. If a police marksman can be ordered to take out an American with a sniper rifle, the American people should be able to buy sniper rifles. It's as simple as that and yes I do mean to take it to the extreme because the US government is run and controlled by extremists who have absolutely no problem killing Americans who they consider a threat to their control/power.

There are some that argue that when the 2nd amendment was drafted, weapon technology was different and the founding fathers couldn't have envisioned the advanced weaponry we have today. Although this is probably true, in my mind this isn't an argument for banning assault rifles because back in the days when the US Army was armed with muskets, those standing against them would have used the 2nd amendment provision to buy a musket. I don't think I need to tell you how long somebody with a musket would last in 2018 against an AR15. They might get one shot off but reloading is a bitch ;-)

I made a comment in a chat room the other day that basically asked whether a group of American patriots would stand a chance against the army or police even if armed with assault rifles and it was pointed out to me that even if they were effective, any police/army that were killed would be turned into martyrs by the propaganda machine owned and controlled by the same scum who control the American government with most Americans siding with the government because they want to feel safe.

Although this is probably true, to me this makes the second amendment even more relevant because I would rather die on my feet defending myself like a man than on my knees, defenceless.

My views on this matter are based on the fact that I believe the American government is corrupt to its very core and therefore a threat to every man woman and child in the United States but I am interested in hearing the views of others, particularly Americans because I am a guy from the UK who has never even fired a gun let alone owned one.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

They’ve gone rogue alright. It happened when they started calling themselves a Democracy and not a constitutional republic, it’s a cycle and tyranny is next as always, history always repeats dude.

Banning guns can and will never happen, they may attempt to force it into law but they won’t get the weapons, only the truly stupid would give up the right to bear arms. Those who don’t understand why the founding fathers put it in the constitution will sit in their re-education camp regretting their idiocy.

Nice post @jimbobbill I think (over the course of thhe next few years) they may get the youth galvanised to gradually chip away and destroy the 2nd amendment .. that said the militia's are way too entrenched and they will never give up their guns! Equally gun ownership is a wholly different beast in the south than the celebrity obsessed cultures of California etc. It should also be pointed out that gun free cities in the States are some of the most violent places in the country! .. Detroit anyone?

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

but you my freinds,@jimbobbill

Ha ha. and you are my freind too shahabshah.
Stay safe !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52