You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BBC Suggests Tips On How To Disarm The USA - Oh, The Same BBC That Appears To Have Known Details of 911 In Advance? Yes!

in #news6 years ago

It is so sad that American society has come to this. Being a Canadian, a country that shares the longest border in the world with our neighbours to the south, I cannot help but wonder how things have gone so wrong.

I have many American friends and have met many more during my travels overseas and the overwhelming majority are for more gun control. Every time I get into a gun debate with a NRA activist the dialogue breaks down and a defence for guns turns into, "well Americans are overweight, should we ban spoons too?" This logic baffles me and makes me wonder how we have become so divided by the issue.

What I do know is this, criminals by and large part are lazy. If you add even just a few more requirements and checks to obtaining a gun, you will likely dissuade potential criminals from obtaining firearms. In Canada we have mental health issues, we have drug and alcohol addiction, we have disagreements between religions, we have atheists, we have marital problems and we have violence, but one thing we don't have is a mass shooting problem. I'm no genius, but I am guessing that our stricter guns laws is a reason for this

Sort:  

I have concluded that while guns clearly do escalate situations to become much more violent than they would otherwise (since it requires very little skill to kill someone with a gun, as opposed to fighting without a weapon) - it is not so helpful to try to control anything as control is also a problem. Rather than trying to control guns or control people, the only solution is to help us all to heal, balance and evolve beyond the low level of consciousness that would ever think about using a gun.

There are just so many variables at play with guns and gun laws in the States, so for every argument, there is likely a valid counter argument. For me, less guns means less possibility of mass shooting, it is as simple as that. I completely understand individuals that say the guns are for stopping an oppressive government and its part of living in a free world, but then on the other hand is america really free? 5% of the worlds population and home to over 25% of the worlds prison population. I guess freedom depends on your perspective

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67633.45
ETH 3775.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70