The Hypocrisy of the Hollywood Sex Storm

in #news7 years ago

As I write this, more and more men of influence in Hollywood are falling on their sword for assaulting, propositioning or threatening people that they hold influence over.

I'd just like to call out the hypocrisy of all of this. But first as always I don't condone the actions of the people in the wrong here.

Now the actors and actresses that are putting forward the complaints are generally in good positions. These directors and producers etc have demanded and threatened these people and generally they have now succeeded in their career thanks in large to a helping hand from these people. As well of course a lot of hard work of their own.

The problem I have is that the people making the complaints have waited 5, 10, 15 years to make the complaints. So they have allowed and condoned this behavior for years. How many other countless individuals have been assaulted or harassed because of their self-serving protection of the Hollywood elite.

Source

Its all well and good to come out now that they are rich and powerful and publicly shame the attackers, but if they were truly outraged why didn't they do something about it back when it occurred? Were they happy enough to take the abuse in their own drive to become famous that they didn't give a damn about those that would follow behind them. Was their greed and desire for power so strong that they knew that exposing these people back then if they refused would risk their own career, so they let these people continue their bad behavior?

So while the Harvey Wiensteins and Kevin Spacey's of Hollywood need to be held accountable, I believe so do the other people. As you are taught in the military, "The Standard you walk past, is the Standard that you accept". They accepted these behaviors and they need to held to account for their distinct lack of action.

gohba.handcrafts02.png

Sort:  

Smacks of "blame the victim". Courtney Love apparently spoke out very early in her film career - and never worked in Hollywood again. Why don't these people speak out when it's happening? Because - the abuses flagged here are being perpetrated by people in power. A few years ago, I got called into the CEO's office where I worked. I brought the documents we were working on. "Come over here by the window," he said, and patted the cushioned seat next to him. I didn't think twice and went and sat down. I launched into a discussion on topics he called me in to discuss and he put his hand on my knee. I froze. The first thought going through my mind was, he was on the interview panel when I was appointed. I liked my job, but my future in the organisation depended on my reaction. I basically freaked out. He removed his hand, and we pretended it didn't happen. That was a Wednesday. By Friday, I'd found myself a new job in a new organisation. I actually felt bad for leaving my colleagues in the lurch, but didn't feel I had a choice. What of the people after me, as you say in your article? In this instance, I was shocked - and vulnerable, and thought only of my own welfare in that situation. I sorted it out, in my way, by myself. It is up to every individual to consider how they react. Should I have reported him? The thought also ran through my head, "It's my word against his, and either way, I'm tarnished in this organisation through no fault of my own," so I elected to leave. I didn't give it another thought. As a victim in the situation, it's not for me to decide how to help future victims. I needed to look after myself. I have no problem with actors and actresses speaking out en masse, now, even years later. To remain quiet now that people have come forward is to deny support to victims. Together, they can take on the powers that be in Hollywood. No more blame the victim. The responsibility lies with those who abuse their power. And just because it has been made public now doesn't mean that behind the scenes there hasn't been support or action taken. We only know what has been reported in the media thus far.

I'm beginning to think Hollywood isn't such a good place? Although..*this is gonna get weird..I'd let Harvey jack off in front of me for a shot at getting rich and famous. Then when my career was cooling off I'd sue him 9 years later just to keep the mansion I got for letting him jack off in front of me. I'd also let Kevin lay ontop of me and put his hand down my pants but no penetration! That's where I draw the line

Prooves my point doesn't it.

Yeah it's tough. I get ppl in powerful positions abusing their power and weak minded ppl could be being taken advantage of. Then a part of me thinks I'm sure alot of them could have just left. I'm also sure alot of women would do anything for a chance to make it and I wonder how many times powerful celebs have to distance themselves from sharks like that? So what's Harvey's totals at now 109 women he's abused? Can I jump on this lawsuit too? When I expose myself to ppl they usually just tell me to put that thing away, but I don't have a ton of money 😞

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Gohba from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.32 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @gohba.handcrafts. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

How heavy is Harvey Weinstein? These actresses weigh 50 to 57 kgs, while he's a hefty 120 kg behemoth, (apart from Angelina Jolie, who weighs 47 kg in hiking boots and a dive-belt). Alone in a room with him, what chance would any of these women have? It's not about how beautiful they are, or wealthy, or powerful. In that moment in his hotel room, they're tadpoles in the presence of a whale...he could snap them in half with a click of his fingers. I think 109 victims is the tip of the iceberg in this whale's ocean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48