text vs video

in #news7 years ago

If you are looking for information on the interwebs, do you prefer a text description or a video tutorial? Would you rather read the news or watch a talking head? I may be old school, but I prefer text. I can read it at my own speed, I can search text, it's easier to reread a paragraph than pause and rewind a video and text is ever so much smaller both on the wire and on my device.

I've noticed that a lot of news sites are starting to put video on every page. One pundit suggested this allowed them to play ads without being blocked because the ad blockers can't differentiate between video ads and valid content. Many of the news sites autoplay the videos, even when they are only slightly related to the printed context on the page. I find this extremely annoying, especially late at night when everyone else in the house is trying to sleep.

Please, fewer videos. Take us back to the 90s.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53