Departing to end a journey of 95 years - the final train of the Rumoi Line, Hokkaido

in #news8 years ago

Dec 4 marks the last day of operation for the Rumoi Line of JR Hokkaido. I was saddened to see the final train departing the Mashike Station with hundreds of railway fans and locals from the TV news report. I have never taken any trains in Hokkaido and nor am I Japanese, but I can understand the feeling of sorrows behind the closure of train line with so much history and emotions attached to it. I am kind of a railway fan myself too.

So I took photos of these news clips from my TV when I saw the news. I know that pictures like the first one will stay in the minds of those people on the platform for a long long time ... Sadness and beauty - Japanese tend to combine these two together. The second shot in the following gives you a clue of where this line was.

When the time comes, I will have to go. But let's hope that we will stay together forever in our memories.

this is what I imagine what the train wanted to say to his dear passengers ...

For those who are interested in more details of the story. Quoting the news report ...

Hundreds of locals and rail fans gathered Sunday to say goodbye to part of the Hokkaido’s Rumoi Line, which operated for 95 years.The last train, packed with around 300 passengers, departed Mashike Station, which is famous for appearing in the movie “Eki Station” starring the late actor Ken Takakura, as nearly 600 people holding pen lights saw it off. 

 Hokkaido branch line made famous by flick ‘Eki Station’ ends 95-year run

note. pic 1 & 2 taken from TV by me and pic 3 from the news.

Sort:  

Your post has been chosen by the @robinhoodwhale initiative as one of our top picks today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

The Steemit community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep on Steeming!

Good luck!

~RHW~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50