You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earth Overshoot Day - August 2 2017, and the Averse Effects of POW Mining

in #news7 years ago

Don't get me started on food waste @websensei, because you are so correct! At the university cafeterias and local supermarkets, all food that may spoil is thrown out at the end of the day. It is incredibly disappointing.

Just another of 1000 areas of society that need to be overhauled to aid the planet.

Sort:  

Work in a restaurant, can confirm massive amounts of food thrown out every day. That said, the reason that food like that is tossed vs given out to the poor/homeless is that all it would take is one of them getting sick due to the food actually being spoiled and it's lawsuit city for the establishment.

And, as a genuine question - not a troll - I've been mining Gridcoin now for almost a year. My gaming machine now runs 24/7 and my power bill has gone up a considerable amount since I started, more than what I make back in Gridcoin, so far. I'm in it for the SCIENCE! though so I don't mind. My question is, how is that different from mining Bitcoin(POW) as far as power savings? Am I just doing it wrong?

Great question - you are not doing it wrong!

Whether you are mining Gridcoin or Bitcoin, your PC will still use the same amount of power. The difference is that when mining Bitcoin this power is spent endlessly hashing into the void to 'win' a block, while with Gridcoin this power is spent doing research.

The power draw is the same, but the benefits derived are worlds apart. Gridcoin will soon be back up to a level where it can easily pay for your power costs.

Gotcha, thanks!

Also, I probably should've said above that I 100% agree that the food waste shouldn't be a thing - my comment was more geared to blaming the rules and regulations of society itself and not the establishments. Hell, where I work the guests could take the food to go, which we happily box for them, and walk quite literally 3 steps out of the restaurant to find a homeless person to hand it to. Instead I'm scraping half plate fulls of food into a trash can 99.9% of the time. @websensei "poor minds" indeed.

Exactly. The cause of poverty are poor minds, in many situations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47