You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why have I focused so much on the Coronavirus quarantine?

in #news4 years ago

Just another fearmongering scare tactic distraction, and so many are falling for it, only to later feel silly. That was me, 4 or 5 major pandemics ago. You learn to pick your battles after a while.

Sort:  

Did you notice China quarantining more than 50 million people in those outbreaks? No? It is useful to consider the differences between this outbreak and prior events.

After ~25 minutes in, there's a discussion of the fact that China has concealed the initial outbreak, and continues to misreport information.

liwenliangdiesahero.jpg

CCPshill.png

It's important to base your decisions on facts, and not propaganda.

No offense, but I've only known you a year, and in that time you've had about 20 or 30 frantic meltdowns over various issues, most of which have passed into memory without incident. And yes, this is another.

If we can't trust China to tell the truth ("continues to misreport information"), why are we trusting some of their data, like the number quarantined? They could be inflating numbers to prove they're on top of the problem. Pretty much everything available on the issue is propaganda - facts are impossible to nail down at present. You're not basing your fear reaction on facts, you're basing it on the fake videos and numbers you're getting.

This happens every 3 years or so, exactly like this. The virus is in your mind, not your bloodstream. You're infected by fear, and you're spreading it. But not to me because I've been exposed to this kind of thing before and my immune system won't tolerate it ;)

Your assumptions are showing. I'm not huddled in fear. I'm working seven days a week, in contact with the public. You can ignore whatever information you want to. You mischaracterize me and my responses to that information, and that reflects on you, not me.

Be well.

It's funny that we're probably 2 of the best-informed people around, on such topics, and some of the most propaganda-proof people in our peer groups.... but we both feel the other has succumbed to propaganda in this case. I assume only one of us is right (that we aren't both completely befuddled)? But I don't assume it's the one who has watched the most reports (and clips of 1000 people in a courtyard all doing the shimmy shake for the camera) about it.
Why do you mention that you work with the public? Are you insinuating you're at risk? If so, that's your fear showing, by very definition. You're saying "I have a right to be afraid, I could get infected and die!" That's the fear. Keep in mind all the other engineered plagues that we've dealt with and continue to deal with. This one is just another name on that ever-growing list. You're not going to get it, and you don't need the vaccine.

"...clips of 1000 people in a courtyard all doing the shimmy shake for the camera..."

Since I haven't any idea what you're talking about regarding that video, I can only agree with you.

"Why do you mention that you work with the public? Are you insinuating you're at risk? If so, that's your fear showing, by very definition."

No, you again assume incorrectly. I'm pointing out that I am not reacting in panic. Plenty of reason to avoid public contact during a pandemic when more than 50 million people are under quarantine - as has never before happened in history - but I am not so frightened as to do so, completely contradicting your last sentence. Frankly, you seem to be attempting to be pejorative, which I find both irrational and telling.

You keep putting words in my mouth, or thoughts in my head, that I neither express nor reveal by my actions. This is indicative of your need to prevail and not be disagreed with as to fact, which also shows you are short better arguments to support your case. You seem obsessed with fear, and seem to associate merely acknowledging danger with terror.

That's your fear showing. Ignorance, they say, is bliss. I reckon it is when the truth simply cannot be faced because the terror it causes you cannot be either.

I have no interest in further trying to understand why you have a need to characterize me as frightened unduly now, or in the past year. Face such facts as you are willing and able to, but do please cease trying to tell me what I do or don't feel, and stop putting words in my mouth.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67