FaceBook announces another disaster: Staff had access to users' passwords!

in #news5 years ago

The mainstream media, long a partner and friend to FaceBook and 'Big Tech', continues to loudly announce the company's troubles and sins, now revealing they kept users' passwords unencrypted - and available to staff!

I've reported here on a smattering of the company's recent issues, such as their tightening censorship, and was recently given a 30 day ban for discussing free speech there. Data scandals, shadowbanning and deleting certain political viewpoints, deplatforming activists, and so much more, like the widespread 'criticism' from the mainstream that FaceBook 'must do more' to stop certain videos from being seen. The current narrative is that FaceBook has been bad, and needs to change.

Now, they're announcing they didn't even encrypt users' passwords, a colossal blunder only the most-careless newbie company would make. Half a billion or more people need to be changing their pw right now (and re-thinking their use of the site at all).

It strikes me how in-your-face these admissions are. I don't think it's because Zuk's a nice guy and likes being forthcoming. I think there's another reason(s) FB is announcing all these internal disasters and corruptions. The way they, through their friends the MSM, announce all these problems, it's like the opposite of a successful company's tactics. Like Apple, for example. Every few weeks, they roll out another feature, another product. FB rolls out new disasters, new admissions of guilt.

Why?

While the answer might not be clear yet, what's clear is a certain portion of FaceBook's users will NEVER abandon it, not even if FaceBook admits they're sexually molesting the user while they sleep (and streaming it live, of course). A large portion of people simply don't care about their privacy or security (leaving that in the hands of corporations and governments). Even worse is the group of people who don't care AT ALL - they simply always do what is "normal", and expected of them, and purposely don't question anything. The willfully ignorant sheep amongst sheep.

"They get what they deserve! Everybody knows FB is corrupt and censored. People should use sites like Steemit!"

Yes, I completely agree. And I see this statement all over the place, any time FaceBook gets negative press. I get it. But that's not seeing the whole picture here. FB has die-hards, and there are sheep in every crowd. Furthermore, FB is part of the deep state - the nonpublic inner workings of governmental agencies and elite insiders. They aren't going anywhere unless that decision is made from the top, and I don't mean Zuk. This isn't a free market where companies that screw up go bankrupt. This is a rigged game where supply and demand aren't allowed to act.

The reason I have a FB account? I've known it was a rigged game of censorship and surveillance since it started in 2006. I've used it to my advantage, while attempting to minimize the disadvantages I was aware of. Little of the revelations in the past year have shocked me. I continue to use the site, to reach the ignorant masses with my message. FB isn't my home base online - Steem is. Same with my 10-year channel promoting liberty on YouTube. I can't see a place of censorship and surveillance as my home base, ever. How could I? How can anyone?

Still, I know that some do, which is why I maintain a presence there. I constantly encourage FB users to leave the site, and to check out the Steem blockchain, and other decentralized forms of social media and news.

DRutter

banner 2019.jpg

Sort:  

This is why many of us are here on Steem!
Let's hope it avoids censorship as much as possible :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Edicted from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I agree with your analysis of the die-hards, but I think the main Facebook platform will die from attrition. The Internet routes around censorship. The privacy issues are slowing user growth to a crawl, and the censorship is driving new censor-resistant protocols and platforms.

The one thing you mention that might fuck up the natural timeline for Facebook's demise is the backing of the deep state. I don't know how that's going to play out, but I'm doubtful it will really be able to control the Internet the way they hope to.

#deletefacebook

That's my hope too. But I wonder why it seems they're allowing that to happen? Whenever I think I've outsmarted the shenanigans of the corporations, government, and deep state, it usually turns out to be a partial understanding at best. Is all this just part of the ongoing divide and conquer agenda? Did Zuk lose a bet at elite gambling night? Is FB being sacrificed?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85