Why We Didn't Have A Post-Consensus Rally - Fundstrat's Tom Lee Opinion

in #news6 years ago

Everybody and their mothers waited shivering the end of Consensus, the biggest crypto-related event of the year, with more than 8,500 attendants this year, because, as happened in the past, this was usually the beginning of a rally. Instead, we got a bit of a sell-off.

Thomas Lee, Fundstrat manager and a long time supporter of crypto, explains in this tweet why he thinks the rally didn't happen (yet).


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 6.47.57 PM.png


For those not looking at the fine print: we need a more coherent regulatory framework around cryptos (especially a clearer definition of when and how cryptos can be securities) before institutional money - the biggest and most expected growth driver - will jump in the boat.

It's worth noting, though, that Lee is still optimistic about cryptos, overall.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

The question is who needs who.
Do we need institutional money of institutional money needs us?

They have a trillions in their pockets and best brains in any field. The CAN find a way around any regulatory fence if wanted so.

From what I've been hearing from Consensus attendees, the event sucked ass.

Everyone was complaining about vapid politicians and Wall St. suits ruining the spirit of the event. Not to mention the tackiness of the lambo display on the street.

According to Gardner Hype Cycle, Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies are at the Slope of Enlightenment.
hype-cycle-bitcoin-1.jpg
I am not sure if we are still in the Trough of Disillusionment yet but what everyone in the industry has no doubt is that this technology is here to stay and we will end up reaching Plateau of Productivity

I know rally has been delayed but my friend good things take time to come.
Hold for more benefit.

@dragosroua bro I discuss this Sbd situation with steemit followers, he is also an sbd's holder,
He said if sbd is pegged, then I'll never go to an 18$ in the last August. it was pegged but now it is not.

That's really frustrating.
we all were expecting a quick rise after this conference but who knows the future.

I agree. It's the uncertainty that's causing people to hesitate. Until then, I'm stacking Steem Power.

Been hearing about consensus but never really cared to read about it or know what it was but I now know what's up with it and I am happy it was a success.

Yes i agree with you

Please Stop - @jakboy

You just said "good job" and in your your last 100 comments you used 51 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 63.10% and Bot: 0.90%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

I think he makes a good point here. A lot of attendees shows a lot of interest, but it'll take more than one conference to win over most of the big-money institutions. This being said, if they keep coming year on year, then I think they'll become more comfortable over time. I'd say aiming 2020 to 2022 is when we'll start seeing some proper instritutional investment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59