You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today's Show Host Matt Lauer Fired For Inappropriate Sexual Behavior

in #news7 years ago

I also wonder about the legitimacy of this rash of historical abuse allegations.

We can probably awknowledge that the media has the choice of which scandles to amplify, just as every groping case now results in coverage and dismissal, in the past such cases were selectively muted or amplified.

I will probably attract downvotes for this, but as a woman, I resent the equalization of all forms of harrassment. If you pinch my butt, I will definitely pinch your muffintop and leave a bruise, but that's not rape - its a form of assult I generally chose to handle outside of the court system.

I would hope that people would, like me, have a poor opinion of the character of people who routinely harrass people. But assholes get successful! no surprises there, if I want to play the real life game, there is a certain ammount of harrassment I have to be able to tolerate, and I believe that attractiveness is a currency, it's up to me to decide whether to 'power up' and tolerate the inevitable harrassment or whether to 'power down' and shame. I make those choices on a daily basis with individuals!

The problem with the 'metoo' culture is the legitimazation of every single complaint, and the expectation that every publicised complaint can be expected to attract more complaints by lifting the responsibility of taking a first step. So essentially we have a witch hunt. Maybe I tolerated a mostly onesided office romance because it did not offend me enough to 'power down', but if he's being accused of rape I'm going to announce my harrassment in the name of solidarity. But what if he isn't a rapist? Then I've participated in a witch hunt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46