Utopian Extends IndieGogo Campaign & Adds New Perks!

in #news5 years ago (edited)

Utopian-indiegogo


Anyone who's been keeping an eye on the Utopian IndieGogo campaign, may have noticed that they've added more time for their campaign to reach its fixed goal of $35,000. I know that previously, there were only a couple of days left until the campaign was finished, but now it's still going to be running for another 35 days.

I'm not too sure if this is going to be enough, since donations seem to have almost stopped coming in. Luckily they've made some changes to the perks that are being offered, but at the same time, previous perks seem to have completely disappeared as well.


Indiegogo-perks

As you can see here, they've now opted to switch towards offering certain premium features to people who pledge certain amounts. This is quite a difference with the previous rewards that were on offer.

Now there's talk of fees that the new Utopian Colony platform will charge and by pledging you can eliminate those fees for one year. I'm not sure if i'm a big fan of this new approach and I don't know if this will actually entice more people to donate now.

Making these drastic changes to the perks, after people have already donated doesn't seem like the best strategy to me. I personally have my doubts that this will cause this project to succeed, even with the additional time this campaign will stay open for crowdfunding.

Now, when I checked my current donation to the Utopian Colony campaign, it seems that my current pledge is still there with the rewards that I had chosen when I made the pledge. If they still deliver everything they've promised to previous backers, I don't see any problem. It's just a little bit weird that they've removed all the other perks, that's all.

I think that those new perks might be more geared towards getting existing open-source projects to join in. I don't know, it's just pure speculation at my end, I just thought it was interesting to report on this.


Aside from changing the perks, they've also completely changed the way they present their campaign on IndieGogo. I think it's all much clearer now for people who've never heard about Utopian in the past.

Their FAQ page has received a big revamp and they've also created a better video where they explain what Utopian does. I hope that these changes will generate some interest from open-source projects that are not yet familiar with Utopian.

It does seems that the previous rewards are still available on their Fundition campaign, so anyone who's still interested in those can use Fundition to donate.

Check out the new Utopian IndieGogo crowdfunding campaign!


Sort:  

That is very interesting that they have changed things so much. I think adding time was a good idea because as you said they are really struggling to meet their goal. I think that they should have created separate reward tiers for the different kind of users on their platform. As a non developer getting fees reduced on a function that I am never going to do anyway isn't that big of a benefit. I hope in the end they get everything figured out.

I had looked at it on indigogo but couldn't see what they were actually trying to achieve. That combined with having to pay through card stopped me from donating.
I know it's a great site for development but for the normal user I don't know what they do. Or what to do with the packages they had. Maybe this will be a more straightforward fundraiser?

Posted using Partiko Android

When you think how many Steem users have benefited from Utopian, it is currently a surprisingly low number of backers. I have backed the campaign but will take another look to see how I can help. Thanks for sharing the news.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting and perhaps it may make more sense to me now I must go and check it out again

I told them they would struggle on day 1 they launched this. This was extremely poorly marketed and poorly thought out.
You need to be precise about what you are selling, you need to know who you are targeting and you need to understand the ecosystem you are operating in.
Simply put, they needed to add monetary incentives.

I'm still pretty doubtful that they're going to reach their goal. it's up to 7% at least, but at this rate it's not going to happen I think. Hope I'm wrong though.

Nah, i dont think there is any way for them to reach the goal unless someone is extremely charitable and wants to part with his/her money.

When they started this campaign they needed to ask the question:

"Why would anyone give us any money?"

If the answer was:

Because Utopian is doing a nice thing.

Then they should have known this would fail.
The fact they thought that badges were a good trade for cash kind of shows the lack of understanding of their surroundings.
The reason Steem Monsters was a success is because the cards had "value" and could be traded for money..

If utopian wants money.... They need to think up a Utopian token and figure out its economy.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.146 which ranks you at #3232 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3238).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Excellent post, We really liked it a lot.
@orinoco is offering a new service that is why we invite you to change your SBD and STEEM to BTC easily, quickly, safely and without fees in https://orinoco.io/ For more information contact us in the Orinoco Channel through Discord


@orinoco

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 441 (03/27/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42