You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Brother in your Pocket? - also musings on the future of VALUE and ADVERTISING on the Steem platform

in #news7 years ago

If I could upvote this post two or three times I would, it's really just re-affirmed to me that great content on steemit does not have to be amazing pictures and multimedia content - sharing your thoughts and feelings works just as well. And that really is Steemit - anyone can create great content you don't need expensive equipment or movie grade cameras - if you have a basic computer or smartphone and can type then you are away. And the complete transparency of the Steemit blockchain is something every user should learn from the start - to me the single best way for anyone starting out is find users who post content they like - and then learn from what they are doing. Look at their comments, look at their replies - and more importantly look at their wallet transactions. You can learn so much looking through what people do with their funds. I run my own business, and spend a ludicrous amount of money on marketing - especially Adwords - the hardest part for me is seeing the confirmed online orders struggling to cover the cost of the click through cost. Of course I have to consider the people who look now and buy later, and some of the very high value kit I supply they don't order online they will telephone, come in person and pay directly - but may have still found me originally through the ads. With Steemit you can exactly see what you spend on ads (the much berated upvote bots) and then see what you get back from a post in rewards. My content is mediocre, and left on it's own would generate nothing of substance - once I realised I could market my posts to get greater rewards I put everything I earned into each post and still continue to do that. It's working for me and I struggle to understand why the upvote bot growth is considered bad for the platform - for someone like me it is the only way I can hope to get my content seen. Plus my ROI is very good - I can work out for every post what I spent and what exactly I got back in rewards after the 7 days - in most cases 3 to 4 times the SBD put in is being received in rewards. I'm still struggling to work out what Steemit considers a quality post, but try my best to make every one of my own posts as rich as possible - it might not be an amazing journey around a far flung land, or a once in a life time experience - but I put a great deal into using my own pictures and text to create something unique to me - and real people seem to like it. And that is what I am trying my hardest to convey to new users on Steemit - the content they create does not need to be found from sources on the internet, or taken from other users because it worked from them. The greatest content I enjoy - is the real life experiences posted by users - just like on Facebook we just love looking into what other people are up to - and this is the simplest thing for anyone on Steemit struggling to work out what content to share - just share you - your life, your experience, what you are doing - where you have been. And then put everything you have into promoting each post.

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.67$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43