You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Autonomous (Self-driving) Vehicles...WHY!? 😖😔

in #news7 years ago

The oblivious driver/pedestrian problem is a separate issue, which I agree is a serious problem that often leads to serious and fatal accidents. That said, computer technology is supposed to minimize human error, usually as close to zero as you can practically get.

When somebody is killed as a result of malfunctioning tech -- and that's the real point here...somebody that didn't have to die was killed by a "test run" of a new technology to which the dead person did not provide consent -- that tech is necessarily a failure.

Humans already kill humans, inadvertently or otherwise. Why do we need tech to do what apparently comes so naturally for us?

Sort:  

Very true, but I look at predatory programming in smartphones to addict users as tech malfunction.

Have seen a few sprained ankles from people walking off curbs while dumbphoning. I’d imagine many many fatalities have occurred from walking with them. We all know dumbphoning while driving kills people everyday, but most people think they are the talented one who can do it safely & so they do.

I don’t think driverless cars should be so hastily tested in a real environment, but I don’t think people have the willpower to drive safely with smartphones either & a person using a smartphone is much much more likely to impact my life at this point. Happens everyday when I drive. Seems more than 1/2 are smartphoning.

Sorry for the off topic rant, am hopeful that the dangers of transportation will decrease as we “progress” but seems to be more dangerous than ever. Would love to see a functional smart transportation system & less individually operated vehicles. I think it should be much more difficult to get a license & a lot easier to lose. Way too much risk from what I see.

I always enjoy reading your perspectives, inspires thought

Your point is true and very much valid, and in a way, the predatory programming you mention could be construed indirectly as a tech malfunction. Although just my opinion, I think it's not so much a tech malfunction but a deliberate, concerted effort to dumb down society! :)

Unfortunately, I don't think transportation safety will ever improve because of a host of societal issues, primarily stemming from the destruction of family and faith, and spiraling out of control from there into multiple sub-issues. I don't want to expound at this point because I'll go into full-blown rant mode, and that's something none of us want to see...LOL!

I'll just move on to destroying our astronomical "realities" instead...haha! :)

I agree with you about the concerted effort to dumbdown.

Looking forward to the rant post about family & faith when you decide to write it out. I have had quite a few thoughts on the same topic in the past few years.

🎥 🚀 🌗 💸💰💵

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81