You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook Is Fighting Fake News!

in #news7 years ago

Sorry I didn't get back to you on snopes. Who would think to bookmark a snopes article you found to be wrong. You just mentally note, snopes: -1.
Snopes is about -15 from my personal experiences.

But, then you try to go reconstruct, where was the articles I was reading that pointed to snopes, and the other article I was reading that disproved it.

Asking for a list of years of casual running into snopes problems is a bit on the impossible side. But, I will remember you when I run into the next one.


So, one of the most truthful, tell it like it is, futuristic thinkers is on the "fake news" list. When doing a microsloth search, even with the website in the search, it doesn't come up until the 3rd page. When doing a very specific search on Boogle with the website in the search, the article is down in the middle of the page.

On facebook, I literally have to go to many of my friend's walls to see their posts.

And many posts have just disappeared, and its getting worse.
I bet you would like me to link to some of these.. but it is kinda impossible to link to something that has disappeared.

What F-c-book says sounds nice, but what it really means is that if you disagree with the MSmockingbirdMedia then you will get censored.

Sort:  

But, I will remember you when I run into the next one.

Please do! That would be a great discussion topic.

How do you define censorship? If I created a platform and allowed others to use it, but control what can and can not be said on that platform, is that censorship? Some may say yes. I think no. I think real censorship is where people forcibly prevent you from sharing ideas. Meaning, there are topics which people are simply not allowed to discuss without facing severe, often violent consequences. Thankfully, we don't have much of that in this country and with the blockchain it's virtually impossible (though various blockchain readers such as steemit.com can choose to do what they please).

And yes, I'm not a fan of the "fake news" list. I think that's separate from what's being discussed here which is specific examples of sites posting things which other sites which have agreed to a set of standards say is disputed. I don't see that as censorship. I see that as helpful. Sort of a, "Hey, before you take this as the whole story, check out these alternative perspectives on the issue." I see that as how we gain more accurate knowledge of reality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77