Sort:  

As more information comes out about the story I will be sharing it here on steemit. According to the associated Press story I read on this.... this guy was approached by police earlier in the evening and held a knife to his throat and the police decided for some reason not to pursue it any further and let him be. The police are also reporting that he is a person of interest in a carjacking earlier in that evening. I've also interviewed some of his family members. they have told me as well as the corporate press that he's had a history of drug abuse that he was currently seeking treatment for. Methamphetamine was the drug that he had problems with. Looks like he may have ditched the car near the homeless shelter and ran inside. We do know that the weapon he was holding was a box cutter with about a 1 1/2 to 2 inch blade. The Police response to the sort of weapon and this guy's behavior is not warranted in my opinion. This looks to me to be a clear miss use of force to the point of it being a murderous. Here's a link to more information about the story from the Associated Press http://www.theindependent.com/news/national/police-got-calls-before-man-killed-at-homeless-shelter/article_d2ccb0ae-0e0a-5673-9ffa-0f24078d7487.html

Thanks for a great response. Yes, typical hysterical (basically) police response.

I mean I have little doubt the victim was a danger to be dealt - but I also have little doubt that he could be taken into custody fairly safely with use of non-lethal means. When law enforcers are this risk averse, that is entirely unacceptable.

yeah man. im just happy to get people asking real questions! I'm sick of the. "follow me I followed you" aka "nice post" people on here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67