You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did 'Ronald Bernard', the Alleged 'Illuminati' Child Abuse Whistleblower Die in a Florida River Recently? I don't think so!

in #news7 years ago

@ura-soul Now you got me going. It is not just the plethora of dubious sites. The greater issue is all the people who swallow this crap and regurgitate all over the place. Sometime back, on other social media, folks were bewailing that the Man-Satan (Monsanto) Corporation had hired the Corporation, formerly known as Blackwater. I vetted and vetted, and it was not true. People wanted to believe it was true, so they kept on posting about it.

More recently, it was that Charles Manson was going to be paroled.

Responsible bloggers have to vet everything. I just spent one-hundred hours on a post, because of all the research to confirm or deny facts and factoids.

Sort:  

Yes, if I look through the 'truth' related groups on facebook I am a member of, they are probably more than 75% filled now with obviously false 'stories' and links. When I started out on social media over 10 years ago, this just didn't exist at all. I am fairly clear that the majority of it is deliberate misinformation intended to confuse and destabilise groups of well meaning people. :/

Also a lot of the fake stuff comes from clickbait youtube videos where people just make stuff up to get the views.

Yes, definitely, Fakebooc is awash with all that garbage - I just mute people that repeatedly post from them there.

Excellent update. Thank you for reporting on this.

You are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50