Make-Sense-of-Things-Monday Philosophy contest results

alice-donovan-rouse-177304-unsplash.jpg

Well, it's safe to say that I need to work on getting people to joinin with things like my philosophy contest. Maybe people were distracted by the death of Stephen Hawking. And maybe the fact that the SBD prize-money I offered was worth much less by the end of the week than the start of it didn't help either.

Anyway, the results are in, and the winner, in basically every category, was @psilocybit with his stream-of consciousness style take on what properties, namely consciousness itself, are emergent from certain kinds of networks:

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@psilocybit/it-s-artist-endeavour-to-bring-that-which-is-in-the-realms-of-the-mind-navigators-psychonauts

So @psylocybit gets 1.5 SBD for winning the popular vote (not hard considering that no one else managed to technically enter), plus 0.5 SBD as the contest post did quite well, plus at least one share in the @steembasicincome scheme (if he wants it - I'm not forcing anyone).

Honourable mentions should also go to @solarbear for a short comment on the use of natural law, and how things would be much easier of people could just follow the principles of doing no harm and respecting each other's autonomy.

Last, not certainly not least, @cnacws, for engaging me in philosophical discussion in the comments, and doing so in a calm and measured manner, despite my slightly unfair hectoring of how he made his case (btw, that conversation isn't over 😃).

Even though it's not strictly in line with the original rules, I'm awarding these two 0.5 SBD each for being such good sports, and giving their brains (and mine) a workout. The offer of sponsorship into the @steembasicincome extends to them as well.

transfer1.jpg

Thanks to everyone who voted, upvoted, resteemed etc.

I have to think further on how Steemit can be leveraged to get more visibility and interation for philosophical posts. I had to stop @ginabot from sending me DM every time someone said 'philosophy' as I was getting hundreds of notifications a day. So people are thinking about this stuff, and posting about it on Steemit, but I'm not sure they are really connecting with each other. If you have any ideas in that regard, feel free to corner me in discord for a discussion.

Thanks for reading.

DQmcHbDwtkt18cJR6NGVtp8WKwrvmqPPXETb2Ty1pGH3Zg9_1680x8400.png

Custom footer by @bearone
Photo by Alice Donovan Rouse on Unsplash

Sort:  

bring it on! I won! lol, what's basic income?

It's a universal basic income experiment being run on the steem blockchain.

The idea of basic income is that everyone should get a certain amount of money just in virtue of them being human, and that the amount of income should be enough to live off, so that working for more money is a choice rather than a necessity. The economic/philosophical underpinnings are pretty extensive, so I'll save it for another post.

The experiment @steembasicincome has going here doesn't provide anything like a living wage, but buying in or being sponsored in will provide a small upvote on all your posts. The full overview of what they are doing can be found here: https://steemit.com/basicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-a-complete-overview

Banking is an Application not an Institution!!

i feelyou, the fact of beeing alive should all be awarded with basic income.

What? What contest? <- so late to the party, but I guess there's always next week. Just followed you by the way!

Crap. I missed it! Ok I'll keep my head on a swivel and look out if you do any more, this is awesome.

I've been thinking about how to get some more rigorous (cited) philosophy into the philosophy section.

I've come across @steemstem which is promoting STEM fields on steemit by creating a community, curating posts that meet their editorial requirements (which seem to me to strike a good balance between academia and the crappier stuff you might see in 'new'), and hosting promo contests etc.

I think I read that they're partnered with @curie as well, which seems like an interesting route. If you aren't familiar with @steemstem I think it could be a potential model for something similar with philosophy. Food for thought!

Here's some links to get a feel for their project;

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/steemstem-winter-2017-2018-project-update

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/rebooting-steemstem-towards-an-engaged-community-on-the-steem-blockchain

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/being-a-member-of-the-steemstem-community

For posting;

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/helpful-guidelines-for-crafting-steemstem-content

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/guidelines-on-copyright-standards-in-steemstem

I'm glad it did well, at least for a first time contest... Are you thinking about expanding it?
Also, perhaps it would help to not limit contestants based on their reputation... you actually want the higher reps participating & resteeming your post for more visibility. And then you can keep the higher & main prize for the smaller accounts...

Good points. yes, I am thinking of expanding it. But I also think there's some work to be done reaching everyone who might be interested in entering.

Also: Congratulations on the book! Can't wait to read the English translation.

Thanks! And yes, you have a good point. But perhaps also don't expect everyone to find you right away. Things take time.
Which reminds me... heads back to editing the English translation...

Sorry I missed it!!! I'm following too many for my own good.

Valiant effort @samueldouglas! 🙏
I try to offer mini contest in some of my posts. Easy little ones like "count the hearts." Kinda fun. Not deep, silliness... Philosophy will be fun too. Probably attracts a different type of upvoter.

Yeah, I might have made it a little hard. People are probably also overwhelmed by my relentlessly positive outlook on life.

Maybe use the contest tag... you did.
Wow, speaking of overwhelmed, I forgot how saturated that tag is. Lots of meme contest.

Yeah. And because the trending page of #philosophy is not very representative of philosophy, there's no point in paying to get to the top of that either.

I think I'm just going to have to put in the hard yards contributing to every philosophical conversation on Steemit. There's only a couple of hundred per day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81