Turning your Steem Dollars into Steem - So Easy To Do

Earlier this week I was talking with someone and mentioned exchanging Steem Dollars for Steem and then powering up the Steem to Steem Power. she suggested that it might be helpful to explain how it is done. While I am sure there are tutorials that came before me I do like sharing things like this in case others might have missed or didn't understand someone else's explanation.

So here is my step by step instructions on how to exchange your Steem Dollars (SBD) for Steem.

Step 1: Go to your Wallet

You can see I have $4.540 in Steem Dollars at the start.

Step 2: Click the "Buy Steem or Steem Power" Button

You will be taken to the BlockTrades site.

Step 3: Choose to the currencies you want to exchange.

In the left box choose Steem Dollars where it initially said Bitcoin. The box on the right already has Steem selected. For my transfer I am getting Steem, but in that spot you could choose Steem Power if you want and save yourself a step later.

Note/My Opinion:

As long as Steem Dollars have a higher value than Steem it seems beneficial to transfer you SBD to Steem even if you DO NOT want to power it up into Steem Power. Doing this will also give you a more accurate Estimated Account Value. This is because in the code that figures your Estimated Account Value in your Wallet values 1 SBD equal to 1 USD even though it is actually 1 SBD = 6.84 USD (approximate at the time I am writing this.) When you convert it into Steem however it calculates it at the proper amount.

Step 4: Put in the amount of SBD you want to exchange.

For me it is 4.540.

Step 5: Put in your SteemIt name if it is not already loaded. Verify it says the "Address is Valid". Click the "Get Deposit Address" button.

Step 6: Type in your SteemIt name and then click the "Transfer Using SteemConnect" button.

Step 7: Click the "Continue" button to confirm the transaction.

Step 8: Sign in to SteamConnect to complete the transaction.

You will get a confirmation and a Transaction ID which I have partially blocked out here.

In the transactions list of your Wallet you will see the exact amounts of the transaction. You can see I got 5.122 Steem for my 4.54 SBD.

You can now see my new Estimated Account Value is $274.13. It was $247.85 prior to the exchange. That is $26.28 higher, but as I explained, it is not really higher, just more accurate now.

It really is pretty easy. If you did your exchange like me for Steem and want to power it up you can do so by clicking the arrow next to your Steem amount and choose Power Up. The system will walk you through that.

I certainly hope this helps someone understand how to transfer their Steem Dollars for Steem or even Steem Power. If you have any questions please feel free to ask me, whether it be about this transfer or anything else really. If I know the answer I will be happy to help you. You can reply here or find me on Discord @randomwanderings #9929

#newbieresteemday

Sort:  

I am the "Tag-Lifter" and you have been resteemed because you tagged your post #newbieresteemday


(source)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Very informative especially to those who have not tried transacting such. Thanks!!

Thanks! I hope it helps.

Thank you, very simple and precise your step by step; I did not know how to do it, now yes. Tremendous support. Regards

Thanks! I am glad it will help.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Thanks! This is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

You're Welcome. Thanks for suggesting I post it. And once you know this part you can essentially figure out how to adjust it to move it in any direction.

Hi, I have a question please? What makes our vote with greater value? The steem power or the steem? Sorry, I still have a lot to learn here and I wish to increase my voting power to be of better help to the people who needs my upvote.

Hi @ayingroxie, That is a great reason for your question! To increase the amount of your upvote you need to increase your SteemPower. At the basic 15 SteemPower our vote is only worth $0.01. at 35 SP it increases to $0.02, and at 55 SP to $0.03. It will take a decent amount of Steem Power to get to the level of a vote really being worth any money, but we will all get there. Of course even at a single penny your upvote is still important to a post and an author. If for no other reason just to encourage them.

I did find a great resource that can tell you how much a vote is worth depending on your Steem Power level. It is here: https://www.steemnow.com/upvotecalc.html

And feel free to ask me an questions, or anyone else involved with the Newbie ReSteem Initiative #newbieresteemday as we will all be willing to help or find the answer if we don't know it ourselves.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my question @randomwanderings. Yes, the people behind #newbieresteemday has been of great help.

Anytime! You're very welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66