You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New User: Formatting that first blog and more

One of my followers had her account stolen by an ex boyfriend. He changed the password and is powering down. She needs to set up a new account. What is the best way for her to do that?

Sort:  

If she made here account through steemit- - - have her visit and read this page.

https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1

One very very important thing to remember when she get her account back is to not delete any comments.

This link is from last year:
https://steemit.com/security/@steemcleaners/phishing-attacks-and-recovery

it is steemcleaners and some things may have changed but not by much.

It has a step by step processes to recover the account. Any liquid steem will be gone, but she has 7 days to save what was powered up, so first action after getting the account back would be to stop the power down.

I think she does not even want to try the recovery process. He had the password because he helped her set up the account. It was not a valuable account and I think she will feel better making a clean start, but I will give her those links. I remember reading that there are communities who are helping fund new accounts to help them get set up. Do you think something like that would work for her?

Yes, there is the PIFC (@pifc) run by @thedarkhorse, he also runs a few minnow booster programs. Also there is @paulag and her redfish power up league, and of course just other people, that may delegate some SP to help new users out. Even I have given out SP to help new users, or causes in the past, I am sure she will be able to find sponsors that can help, I have one small delegation out right now to an individual, and would be willing to help a friend of yours out.

An SP of 50 is pretty much the bare minimum needed for an active individual, 80SP pretty much allows a person to do everything. And an active individual can, with that starting amount, build their account to 50SP in a month or two.

Good suggestions. I'll let you know what she decides to do.

Hello neighbor to the North, I'm just outside of Chicago. Hope you didn't have to deal with the ice storm we did today.

Anyways as @bashadow said I run run @pifc and @minnowbuilder along with an ongoing free delegation for smaller members to help get them going personally.

@pifc will help as your friend can come and "Pimp" their post each week in our "Pimp Your Post" initiative. It's just an easy way for people to promote one of their posts and engage with others. As a bonus PIFC gives out votes and a Bounty. Also those who get involved with PIFC tend to do well long term and gain a lot of support from others in the community.

@minnowbuilder maybe able to help after a discussion. Would want to know what the previous account is to see the type of content is and would need a couple new posts made. The Minnow Builder Program has 2 parts, 1st is shares that can be purchased for a guaranteed daily upvote and the 2nd part gives back to the community to help "Build Minnows" by providing free daily upvotes to deserving steemians.

I personally also do a Steem Power Delegation Giveaway which could be very useful to her for getting back on her feet. 50sp is the most I give out to one person, but that is enough to get an account started.

If she needs a free account let me know. Have a few people that have free account creation tokens that can help out. Message me on discord about the situation if you would like any help from me. thedarkhorse #6765 is my name there.

Thanks for all this information. Her account name was/is @ khey and you can see she was willing and able. He told her he would give her the account back but he was going to keep the password. Which means that she would just be working for him and he could drain it again anytime you wanted to. Seems kinda senseless. I'm hopeful that she will walk away from it and take the initiative and start something new. But I'm uncertain how that will all play out. I will let you know if I hear more.

We have been getting ice and snow all day long. And I hear there's another storm coming over the weekend? I am so done with winter.

No way I'd ever build an account that someone else holds the keys too. She needs to pull whatever she can from it and start over.

This winter has been a hard one. My kids just left for Arizona for a week...kind of wishing I was going with them.

I think he sees nothing wrong with taking her account because she is just a woman.

My kids live in Chicago and I am cat sitting for them while they go sit on the beach in Mexico for two weeks in March.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67396.07
ETH 3510.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15