Let me be your Sugar Redfish and be mentored!

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

So the other day @simplymike gave this idea in the # ideas and feedback section of the Newbiestreem discord channel of adopting a new Steemian. I liked it because unofficially I have been doing that.

image.png

From Unsplash - Yang Miao

Contrary to popular belief I do not just have whales and dolphins as the people that I have GINABOT notify me whenever they make a new post. I also have a lot of Redfishes like me that I follow and comment when I can to know that I am watching over them. People that I find interesting and would like to make sure that I keep tabs with.

So it's time to put my money (in this case SP) where my mouth is and do it officially.

This is the criteria that I am looking for:

  • Must be reputation 50 or less
  • Writes in English as unfortunately, I am not good in any other language not even my own
  • Has access to Discord as most of the mentoring will be done one on one in a direct message format. I'm hesitant to use Facebook since I am trying to get away from it.
  • Is committed to at least write one post a day or even thrice a week. I can't have someone who writes once a week
  • Is not a shit poster! I know quality is subjective but I am willing to take precious time to do this so make an effort please
  • Does not need to be a follower of mine nor regularly upvote me unless they want to
  • Keeps an open mind on positive criticism and feedback.

What's In It For You?

  • Well access to this Sugar Redfish for any questions that you might have about Steem. I don't do math questions though
  • If I like your content I will give you a 100% upvote which is a whopping 15-19 cents! Well, I am a Redfish after all. I have stopped self-voting lately so I can give 1-2 upvotes to the person depending on the content of course.
  • To help guide you with content, formatting, impact of the post and word choices. You can then decide if you want to make edits based on that then cool
  • We have a potential room in the Promo-mentors and if its something really good I can drop it there and hopefully a curator from Curie or OCD sees it and submits your work
  • At the end of the two-week mentorship program have a good chance to be invited to the Promo-Mentors and have a larger selection of mentors who can help you in providing feedback to General Topics, Poetry and Fiction, Utopian and SteemSTEM posts.

The Selection Process

So how do you get in then? what will be my basis to choose?

  • Must be young, single and pretty Wrong list! Tell me in the comments field of this post why I should be your Sugar Redfish
  • You can also make a post about it and present your reasons. If you do make a post, make a link in the comments field so I can see it. Any phishing links attempts will be downvoted and reported to Steemcleaners!
  • No need to follow, upvote or resteem as the purpose here is not for me to gain more followers but for me to pay-it-forward and help people
  • You can also nominate someone if you feel that they would be a good fit for this.
  • You have 7 days to create the comment or post to help me choose.

Disclaimers

  • I have the sole right to choose who the person I would devote my time
  • During the two-weeks of mentoring I have the right to decide to stop the mentoring program
  • As much as I want to be online 24/7 I also have a job and life but I will do my best to answer as soon as I can

So let the games begin!!! Hope to meet some interesting Steemians!

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Why I would like to have you as my mentor
I enjoy your posts. When I read them I can feel what you are feeling and for me that is a great writer. You are clear in what you say and that is something I need to work at. You add humor, love and compassion in your posts, which can really pull in the reader. You are great with words, which is also something I lack in.
You are genuine in your comments and I find them very uplifting. The knowledge and experience you have, is something I know I can learn and benefit from.
I like the way you write and I hope that I can also express myself the way you do and share just as much.
The lack of knowledge I have for some things and the know how to write, is one of the reasons why my good posts are far in between.
A point in the right direction from you will be a great gain for me, and to others as well.
A redfish you may be, but not just a redfish. You have all the right qualities and as a person you are more. I hope other people can see this as well.
Thank you my friend for giving this chance to us 'little ones' to be able to grow into being great. Much respect to you. xx

Thank you FS and even if you are from the Empire I can't have favoritism's here and will be awaiting for the 7th day to make a decision. Your entry has been recorded.

I wouldn't want you do it through favoritism. It is not right and not honest. The right people deserve the right mentors. It is the way things should be :)

I really like this idea - so glad to see you jumped on it! Just wanted to pop in and show some support! any minnow would be lucky to have a sugar redfish like you!

Thanks hahah and I am pretty excited about this and hope that I will not slip up! Thank you for dropping by and showing some support! really appreciate it.

Since it seems like I can apply, here’s my comment. I wanted to take the time to read through your blog posts and know more about who this redfish person is, ha :). I went all the way to read your first introduce yourself post and you got my interest there! Oh, Ready Player One is my favourite recent movie, it’s so good - haven’t read the book but the adaptation is amazing. OMG I love super mario bros., I remember when I used to play the little Nintendo as a kid. It’s so relatable when you say you wanted to get away from reality through games and books ( most movies/tv shows, in my case).

Well, anyway, I’m getting off topic here. The reasons why you should be my Sugar Redfish.. First of all, I think we both agree on how awesome Altered Carbon is. haha Ok, seriously. You seem like such a great person. I read your posts about Gift in Kind Foundation and it couldn’t put a larger smile on my face - it’s amazing the fact that you’re dedicating your time and resources to help people in need. I was specially touched by the Banawen Elementary School. I’m sure they must be really happy to be adopted by the foundation. I also appreciate the fact that you always take the time to reply to, if not most, all of your comments. That’s something I do myself and will always try to do in the future. I appreciate when people take a little bit of their time to comment on something I wrote, even if it’s a simple comment.

Talking about writing and my content, I’m looking to write a fictional ‘novel’ in the shape of blog posts (each post would be a chapter), which would be set in a futuristic world with high tech & cool stuff. Your knowledge of Steem and literature would be important in helping getting these posts out there, in case you’re interested and choose to! Well, anyways I’m not a fan of long comments but it looks like I did it this time! I feel like anyone who wins your mentorship will be happy. I wish everyone luck and a great almost Friday! :)

OMG that is a lot of back read that you did hahahhaa. The effort is awesome.

I have logged your comment as an entry and will decide on the 7th day of this post.

Awesome initiative and great way to help out some new folks here. Maybe this will become a regular thing for you!

Yeah I am hoping so they can be like Mave's Angels hahahhaa if they are all female and a Charlie is Male haha

My direct answer would be:
I need a mentor, I am aware that I cannot do it on my own, I need someone to help me on my journey here. I may have some talents to write or to create a post or a podcast but talents will never lead me to greater success. I need a mentor.

You are write even if we have talents and skills having a mentor is a great way to advance further.

I really like this idea. I just reached 50 rep today and I have to say if it were not for the support of people doing similarly for me I would not have reached that. I hope to be able to do the same one day.

Congratulations and indeed it is the support of various people that made it possible to advance as well and I want to bring back something to the community by offering my services.

I don’t have 50 Reputation 😱 but working on it!! We want BIG REPUTATION BIG REPUTATION hah Good luck to y’all :)

Well the contest is for those with 50 rep and below so you are eligible if you want to throw your hat in the ring.

I don't qualify for this, so I'm just here to say, hey, cool idea. I ran across a full blown adopt a minnow initiative a while back, but haven't seen it since. Don't even know if it's still around, but it was the best idea to date that I've seen on Steemit. So, I commend you for doing this.

Also, you've got official redfish/plankton status, but you can hit like a small minnow with that upvote, even in these down times. Another plus.

Good luck. I hope it goes well, so that you feel like you can continue to invest the time, rewards and effort, because it is a good idea.

Yeah a witness was doing that jrswabs from what I could remember. He had mentored one of my friends and it was awesome.

I think you are doing all right. I find you to be very interesting and the comments that you leave in various posts are awesome.

Oh, I agree. I think things are heading in a good direction. Slow, but good.

It's also good to be interesting. Thanks for the kind words. I've been enjoying reading your posts. It makes it easy to comment when they're subjects I'm interested in, so thanks for that, too

I'd love you to be my mentor... but wait! You have been my mentor ever since I started on here. You are very willing to answer my queries.
I don't think I qualify the requirements since I can't commit to writing even once a week. I do support this idea of yours because you are a great mentor. Goodluck!

ahahaha yeah that is true you have access to me already. I know you are busy with your classes but you should write more haha

Right, I should set up some goals for my Steemit life. I'll try my best. Hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30