You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #newbieresteemday Steemit Comment Challenge - Re: Why am I Such a Failure on Steemit?

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago

I wish you luck as you keep writing here. It's hard being new but I think you have the right idea. Making friends is the key to success here. Even if your friends are little minnows, over time, they will grow with you. Those who do best here are incredibly social. I'm working on a sociology PhD right now and academic writing is so stressful and a pain in the butt. Writing for steemit is a lot more fun and the feedback more enjoyable to receive.

Sort:  

Oof, so you understand the pain. It's so nice to be able to take what you love and write about it creatively without the culture of "publish or perish" breathing down your neck. I suppose the lesson I had to learn over time was that there's no such thing as a "perfect" research paper, so take the critiques as far as you can and learn to put a project away once you've hit that point of exhaustion.

I'm sure you get this question all the time at cocktail parties, but do you have a dissertation topic, and if so, what's it about? (Feel free to give the obligatory 1-2 sentence answer that I'm sure you've been honing.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62