You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Its Here - Its Launched ... Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Aww dave, once again I am in awe of you and your efforts to build an amazing community here! I have been on steemit literally all day and my eyes are beginning to cross haha, so I'm shutting down for the night but I'm starting with you and the #newbieresteemday tomorrow:) Cheers!

Sort:  

I am so glad to hear that Lynn, I was hoping you would come along and be our teammate! (of course you will always be my teammate no matter what, but I still think you will find the experience both fun and rewarding)... I think we have a chance to do some pretty cool things and I'm happy you messaged me before you dozed off ...lol ... good night and I love forward to tomorrow now :)

Good morning Dave:) Well, like I said yesterday, this is a great initiative started by you and @mudcat36; a great way to build community! I am a couple days short of one month on steemit, and feel like I'm finally starting to understand things...slow and steady wins the race :) There are certain things though that leave me feeling ill-equipped to join you (although I totally want to!). I only have a 230 followers and need to blog more I think? because I still don't get many 'hits' on my posts. I know I have a lot of advice to offer, but I certainly don't feel like I'm at a 'expert' like level here. I'm not saying yes and I'm not saying no haha...and I love that you see my potential (I do to!)....What's your thoughts, because I know you have so many good ones :)

I think that your blogging hits will come as you continue to make new friends and develop a wider following. So I wouldn't be worried as much about what you are blogging as to how many connections and friends you've made. I set a goal every day for myself to get x amount of people to talk to... Some days I can do it and some days I can't. I think that is the most important thing to do here because the interactions are genuine.

Also realize that the people who you are meeting right now can only give out 10 votes a day and its a 0.01 at best. It will take them time to grow up with you. Helping them to grow will also help you to grow as those 0.01 become 0.08 etc....

Next you should get out into the community and meet and talk to the bigger fish. I usually take at least 30 mins a day going through my favorite feeds and looking for good stuff from the bigger players (high 50 Reputation to 70 Reputation).. Those usually have not only good stuff, that is awesome to see, but they also have many followers just like you. I try to engage sincerely about the post and my thoughts. And generally be charming or funny what ever is appropriate.. Sometimes is simply giving sincere gratitude for showing you somehting new.

Finally I suggest you use the "follow first" principle. Don't wait for someone to follow you. If they are commenting on a post that you are also commenting, follow them FIRST. You don't have to say anything as that is tacky. A percentage of them will like that you have followed them and will follow you back because they either remembered you, liked what you said in your comments, or in some cases people follow eveeryone.

I do this every time I go into any thread... Like you should follow first everyone in my post comment sections. I set my goal of following at least 100 new people a day (and many days if I have nothing else to do, I do even more than that.

Finally this inititative is designed to get you to interact and meet like minded people. I think by participating in the way you feel comfortable doing,, you will find you make new connections, develop a following among thankful newbies, and learn things from the others that will help you. You will see post from friends that you know are better done than you , and you will feel comfortable asking for their advice.

For instance I put out my little instruction on "how to" do something. I am very basic in the tools I use and really don't focus on it being aesthetically pleasing. I say a post by mudcat36 today that was 1000x better in the presentation and I will ask him to teach me how to do it.

You have a good heart and you will do well, I do have confidence in you. Everyone learns different things at different speeds, but the good thing about steemit is we have a genuine interest in helping each other succeed. This can not be underestimated, it is a powerful force when you think about it.

i hope this helps... :)

As always Dave, it's more than helpful! I have done some of what your saying: talking and genuinely commenting to bigger fish (check!), figured that one out on my own lol; "genuine commenting", well, like you, I know no other way:). Next...follow up to 100/day...yowza Dave! How long are you on steemit a day do you think? :) Although I do follow people from threads I'm commenting on; I follow those who have upvoted me and find posts they've done and genuinely comment ect. My ADHD gets in the way lol...I can be online for 5 hours and find that I've wandered all over the place reading and have forgotten where I started:) You should see my handwritten notes and stickies all over the place!! haha And lastly, I don't worry too much about others being better than me; some are, some aren't. That's a fact. I have confidence in my abilities for sure.

Anyway, I do want to help newbies (I've already sent several your way for your informational blogs and today a couple for this specific initiative. I've made a point the last couple of days to meet people at Discord: Steemit Bloggers (only 220 members right now, but that's more personal for me anyway)

So I just re-read your criteria above. Seems pretty simple. Do you resteem all requests? I guess just by typing this I answered my own issues!

Private message me on Discord with any more details, but I guess I'm in :) People helping people...that's my thing :)
lynncoyle1#4299

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77