You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plagiarism by Newbies: The Importance of Citing Sources and Honesty

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago

Thank you for a great post. You are much more calm and rational than I when discussing plagiarism. I tend to froth at the lips and drop f bombs :)

Two cases this week that I saw. One used watermarked photos in his post. The text may have been copied, I didn't even check. I used only my second flag ever on this one. The person replied to me and said he had sourced his images, please remove the flag. He provided the search results that he chose from. The flag stands.

The other was an Adsactly post, where the guy copy pasted the whole thing and simply edited his name into the authors spot. He did replace the link in the Adsactly logo so the upvotes went to him. This is the 3rd time for that in the last month.

Thanks for fighting the fight. If Steemit ever figures out the sign up bottleneck this will be the largest issue we face. Thank you for helping to curb this.

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words @bigtom13 I was calm here but I also get frustrated when I see them especially when it looks intentional.

Wow the number of obviously plagiarized post that you found in a month's time. And the things they do! That person who copied the Adsactly post is another level, even thought of replacing the logo when that person could use the time spent editing to create an original content. If they can't write, there are other things they can do in Steemit to earn.

And thanks too for your courage to flag these people and let them know that they're doing something wrong. A flag will hurt one post, but if they learn from it then they will improve and do right in their succeeding post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85