A Slideshow of Early Louisiana Forestry Practices

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

When I started working for the Department of Agriculture and Forestry in the fall of 1989, I was assigned a small corner office in the old department headquarters in Oberlin, LA.

This old building dated from the era of the Great Depression. I was told that it was built by the Civilian Conservation Corp, and commissioned under the Roosevelt administration.

This organization put a lot of local men back to work during a time of unprecedented economic disaster.

The original structure was built from the products that our local saw mills produced and the quality of the materials were unmatched anywhere.

Unfortunately they didn't save any of the original materials when the old offices were demolished and replaced with a more modern facility.

My small office had an old rusty filing cabinet in one corner that was full of old slides and photographs. These were casually stuffed into boxes and faded yellow file folders.

One day, I went through this collection and got permission from my boss to scan them into our computer system. I burned several copies onto CD's to distribute among our other offices.

I kept one for myself!

It is shocking to see, on these old slides and photographs, the total disregard for responsible land management that our grandfathers practiced.

Today, the timber industry in Louisiana has come a long way.

Slash and burn is no longer acceptable and the scars of the past have all but disappeared.

This quote from the Louisiana Forestry's web site reflects a new age of responsible management of our forests lands.

"Louisiana’s forestlands cover 48% of the state’s area or 13.8 million acres. Private, non-industrial landowners own 62
percent of the state’s forestland, forest products industries own 29 percent and the general public owns 9 percent. This
renewable resource provides the raw material for Louisiana’s second largest manufacturing employer – the forest
products industry – with over 900 firms in 45 parishes directly employing over 25,000 people. An additional 8,000 people are employed in the harvesting and transportation of the resource. Louisiana’s forests provide a multitude of other benefits, including clean air and water, wildlife habitat, recreational opportunities and scenic beauty
With adequate protection, followed by appropriate and accepted forest management techniques, Louisiana’s forests are available to serve our state, both rural and urban, not only on a sustained basis, but at an increased level of productivity. Recognizing the various interests and needs of so many owners, efforts to encourage and promote sound forestry practices on such a vast area requires a balanced, educational process."

I pulled some of the photos that represent the logging methods practiced back then.

As far as I can determine, these photos are from about 1920 to just before World War II. Unfortunately not all of them were dated.

I made this little slide show that you might enjoy.

Where We've Come From.. by Chip Knowles aka beekerst

Source of quote previously documented in the above post is:
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/forestry/

I hope you liked this short post!

Please comment below and give me your opinion. Resteem for your friends if you think they might find value in it.

And as always,

Carry on!

Sort:  

Hello I found this post through @amariespeaks's Minnow Mondays. Thanks for making a slideshow. I like old photographs, makes me wonder what it was like in the past.I was in Louisiana last year but didn't have time to check on the forest area (was only in New Orleans). I did see how vast the land area is with several trees and swamps :)

Thanks so much for the reply! I'm glad to hear when people like my efforts. I just wish more would reply. Yes @amariespeaks and you others in her group over at the #newbieresteemday initiative have been very supportive and made me feel welcome from day one! Thanks again for the reply! And CARRY ON!

You're welcome. Don't worry about replies, you'll get more as you grow here. And you'll eventually would have to manage your time with all the replies ;) Steem on!

Hey there! you've been included in this week's #MinnowMondays featured Newbies from the #newbieresteemday initiative :)
come by and check it out here!

Thanks so much @amariespeaks. I am honored to have been picked! I'm feeling the love!!!!!! Carry on!

I love stories about real experience like this! There's so much we can learn from these. Please post more!

Thank you for your kind words......I'll be sure to read more of your content! I really enjoyed reading "Tanah Lot in Bali", that was awesome!

If You Follow Upvote comment And Resteem me I Will Do Same

what an interesting post. I love trees, they are so beautiful. I'm glad to hear regulations have tightened up in LA 👍 if only the entire world would follow suit.
I love history too. I don't know why but old photographs always intrigue me. It's so cool to see how people lived before me. You slide show was great!

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday. Congratulations on your content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’! I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! Newbie Resteem Initiative

and join the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative Discord channel here: https://discord.gg/xcekaZU

Thank you #amariespeaks! We don't have any old growth forest left in Louisiana but we do have some second growth trees that are now getting to the size of those that the Europeans found. I have a pine in my back yard that is huge. I'm afraid it may be a lightning rod someday! And thank you for the Resteem too!

You're welcome! We love to highlight newbies who write great content and try to give them some support to keep them on Steemit! glad to have you here and I'm very interested to see what else you've got to post :)

Keep up the good work neighbor! A great post for raising awarness how far logging practices have improved over the decades...

Thanks #texasoffgrid! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Those ole boys worked hard to mess up the land like that!

Congratulations you have been upvoted as part of @amariespeaks #MinnowMondays - This Week’s Resteemed Newbies

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66