You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plagiarism by Newbies: The Importance of Citing Sources and Honesty

This is a really good post! I'm relatively new so the information here is very useful for me.

So far, I've avoided having to credit any images by simply using my own. Well, I suppose I do say or imply that the images are mine so hopefully that counts. I'm not sure if I've had to list any references though. Usually, I just include links directly in the text of the post. For example,

Shio-koji has been used in Japan for centuries as a seasoning or ingredient.

Is the above enough or should I include the link again in a references list at the end of my post?

Sort:  

You have already linked it so that's enough. I just wanted a summary list at the end of my post for the text references. I also see some that do not hyperlink at the body of the post (but mentions the authors or sites) and only add a Reference section. You can do it either way, I'm just being OC ;)

For photos, I watermark some of mine or I add a footnote that the photos are mine. Tbh, this is something unclear to me. In academic papers (depending on format), it is required to have your name and date (if known) of the photo. I do not see this in blogs though and I haven't found an article with a clear guideline. I guess the problem there is if someone would steal your photo and you have to prove that you own the copyright.

I checked @rubencress' photos and he adds the c mark. I also see different practices, some indicate a note in the end that the photos are copyrighted and even add that they can be contacted if they want to use the image, some make it clear that it's theirs only. I don't really know the standard for blogs and I will let you know if I find something :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91