You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WANNA PLAY!?! ~ 2 SBD and 3 Shares of Steem Basic Income in the Pot!!

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)

Yaddle and the Bear

Yaddle was a lovely female pomchi who came to us to live for awhile. She looked a lot like this picture from Wikipedia Commons:
Pomchi.jpg

For a large part of 2016, we were off-grid in NE Washington. When I say off-grid, I really mean off-grid. We lived in a small cabin in the woods. No electricity except a few small battery-operated lights, no running water (I pulled up water from the well.) No gas, no internet and even the phone and ham radio were quite patchy on whether they could hit anything. Despite that, It was quite idyllic in many aspects, but it also challenged us to our limits and beyond.

One day, we were sitting by the campfire, cooking supper when one of the kids started yelling "Bear! Bear!"
We had a friend with a dog named Bear, so I immediately started looking for this dog. But then, I saw the black shape over by the cabin where in my haste to prepare supper, I hadn't put away all the shopping. The bear was trying to take one of the bags.

Without thinking, I ran at the bear making as much noise as I could - there was NO WAY it was stealing my shopping! Thankfully, the bear thought twice about challenging this loud, crazy woman, dropped my shopping and ran off down the hill. Yaddle went running after the bear as well, telling it in no uncertain terms that he was not to harass us!

I wish it was the last time we encountered that bear, but it wasn't.
Older than a cub, but still quite young, it came back a few times, once killing some of our chickens.
We often were slightly afraid to wander, especially in the early evening because of this bear, but Yaddle was not afraid.

It got to the point that all we had to do was yell at the bear or growl at it and Yaddle would get the message and chase that bear back down the hill again!

You have to understand that this bear was about the size of four short people huddled together and Yaddle was about the size of a large handbag! This bear could have EATEN Yaddle if it had recognized the fact, but the dog was undaunted and continued to scare that bear away for the rest of the summer.

Yaddle was an awesome dog and we miss her very much - unfortunately, she ran off when we moved, dazed by the big city and trying to find her people (us) when we were away from her.

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@viking-ventures/yaddle-and-the-bear-a-true-life-adventure

Sort:  

BEEEEEEAAAAAARRRRRR!!!!!!! Hahahaha

Ha ha.... Though it would have been funnier had it not killed chickens and destroyed some of the things I'd worked hard to build for them!

The chicken coop I built did not last... the bear squashed it pretty good - thankfully the occupants of it survived.

I hope that is funny enough for you - it was the first one to come to mind. I've had enough children and animals to have quite a few experiences to draw from.

Haha!! Thats great! What an awesome little protector! Sorry he ran away, the big city is just too much for some of us! :) Great job!

Yeah - the big city is too much for me too, so I couldn't fault her. I trained her out of many faults in the short time I had her, but not the one that would have kept her with me. For that, I have only myself to blame, but yeah, I like to think she found a lovely home.

Some small dogs have no clue that they only reach a bears ankle. :)
Good story.

Ja ja ja mischief of Bear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83