You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ork Assault (Game 1) - Turn 4

in #newbiegames6 years ago

Good question.. but I think they don't see us yet. Probably if we move a little around the sandbags we enter their line of sight...

I am thinking we should not go through the center. Instead, perhaps we need to go through the sides. Remember those big guns on the sides which we ignored? What if we take those out, smash a hole through the wall to appear behind their lines?
@urbangladiator has a powerclaw so he can punch through the walls, opening it up so we can insta-take out the enemies behind it.

Once we are in the sides, we can hide/cower behind the -2 cover as well. And from the looks of it none of the enemies have the ability to destroy sandbags... meaning we will be 'safe' behind them.

On the other hand: firepower is not our strength... We're outgunned.
The main problem I see is those cavetrolls. We need to make sure they don't fire 8 frag grenades per turn at us.
The main weakness of the trolls I can see is that they suck relatively in close combat: with guns they can take out half our squad in one turn, but in melee they can do at most one damage on a 4+ roll. So engaging an ogryn in melee is a good way of keeping it pre-occupied.

BUT..... only @urbangladiator has a melee weapon that does more than 1 wound per turn. Melee is kind of weak because of that for the rest of us... you can charge 1 person and if succesful you are out in the open ready for the slaughter :-/

Sort:  

hmmm.... Actually, I think if we can navigate so as to be around D18, then get someone to open that part of the wall, that makes us visible to a SINGLE bullgryn, which hopefully I can Insta-kill.

It depends if that Bullgryn can attack us as we are now, or if moving brings us in sight of one of the others.

Hmmmm interesting plan. I had considered something similar but the one in D18 looks like a candidate. Taking out the wall there will let us shoot it and I do not think it will put us within LOS of the big guns below. In fact, they can't even get to us since they can't climb over the sandbags ;)

But the main concern I have with this tactic is that I'm not sure the other enemies will passively stand there as we kill a bullgryn. And with all of us bunched together in order to fire through the small gap we created I can see another bullgryn simply coming around the corner and fragging us all into oblivion..?

It's not like I have a better plan though.

I did consider that I can teleport myself into melee with 1 bullgryn+2 guardsmen. It would be slightly suicidal (only if they all roll high though!) but this way I could keep three troops including a bullgryn from firing. I'd attack the regular troops first in order to keep the bullgryn on me, so others cannot fire at me.
It all fails as soon as the other troops charge in and pile on top though.

then, if we fail to kill it, everybody shoots except the last person, who engages it in melee so it can't frag us all to death.

Another idea I just had is...

  1. Bullgryns are slower, movement 6 normally, 8 when charging.
  2. Weirdboy teleport == uses up enemy moves
  3. @pbock teleports a nearby bullgryn in such a way that it uses up it's move, yet doesn't get closer. Because of this, the bullgryn behind it cannot pass through because the first bullgryn is blocking the path. And since bullgryns have a huge base, yet little speed, there's no easy way to get around.
    By doing this we could perhaps occupy both bullgryns with a single action and keeping them from doing anything all turn.

I am not sure how you would get within range/LoS to teleport it, without exposing yourself enormously though.

Another idea is that the weirdboy teleport has a range of 8 but I think you can actually teleport 'as far as your LoS' can see. So you could take a bullgryn and just plop it down as far away as possible, so it is out of shooting/charging range. So we don't have to deal with all of them at the same time

I can't even begin to tell you how genius all of this is...

Thanks!! I thought it was pretty clever too 😎
If i were controlling all characters on our side, I'd definitely do this just for the sake of being able to dominate half your troops with one unit 😀

Napoleon would be proud!

Hahaha, maybe you should give the Runtherd a try next... just so you can have your own little mini-army to strategise with...

I'm thinking about it very much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54