You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Advice From a Little Fish to a Little Fish

in #newbie7 years ago

awesome advice @snowpea. I started in September and, like you, I went all out to follow everyone I could find in hopes that some would follow me back, and some did.

I created (what I thought) were some awesome posts that flashed across the screen for a few minutes before new posts bumped my posts out of sight.

The posts got a few views and a few upvotes, but for the most part the responses to my posts were very disappointing, especially when compared to when I post on Facebook where the likes from Facebook friends keep coming in for hours and even days later.

Watching my results, a couple of things became obvious. My time was better spent finding people with similar interests who posted about things I'm interested in - and - replying to their post with a related comment, upvoting their post and resteeming it and following that person so as to see more posts like that going forward.

From a self-serving point of view my time has been better spent and the benefits have been greater by commenting on more of other people's posts and posting less of my own. I've gained more solid connections, and gained more compensation.

And you answered a question I posted a couple of days ago about why some of the bigger players 'unfollow' others and have only a short list of people they follow. [here's that link -https://steemit.com/follow/@watertoncafe/golden-question-why-unfollow]

Thanks for posting this, it's some very good advice for any newbie Steemers.

Sort:  

Thank you for reading, and for sharing your own advice and experience with Steemit so far!! You're right about Facebook...likes and comments come in for days and it can feel a bit disconcerting when you first make way over to Steemit. :)

I just read your post @watertoncafe and I'm not sure if that really did answer the question haha! I haven't ever heard of that strategy before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25