Golden Question - why "Unfollow"

in #follow7 years ago

Newbie question from a Steem Roller wannabe - why do some of the top rankers have so few people that they follow?

And the BIG Questin, why after I "follow" them and they "Follow" me back - why do they then change that later to "Unfollow"?

I'd take it personally but in most cases I see they have 1,000's following them and they only follow a few dozen in return. What is the strategy there?

I like to imitate success, so if it works for them I should do it too?!? - except it helps to know the reason why in case some day someone asks me the QWERTY question - why is it that way?

In the early stages I Followed everyone I could find in hopes that some of them would follow me back - and about 1 in 6 did. My idea was that the more who follow you the better are your chances of receiving more votes (and some Steem) for my posts. And I think it did make a difference, though a lot less than I expected.

The real benefit so far seems to come from finding posts (and people) with similar interests and then commenting on their posts with something of meaning, as you would if in a conversation with them.

Just Wonderin' Why?

Sort:  

I think if you have a ton off people you are following, then you will get a lot of posts on your home page that may not be relevant to you.

I can see that as being part of the reason @theabsolute. But if you follow me and I follow you and if you never post then you won't show up in my "Feed" so no problem and if you do post then you will show up and I'll have a chance to return the favor by upvoting and replying to your post. my thoughts anyway

But that's the thing, if you have 1000 followers and they post even once-in-a-while, then you could have a lot of stuff on your home page where maybe you only want to see stuff from maybe 50 or so people. I don't have an answer to why they would follow you, then unfollow. I'm just saying that is why some people may only follow a small number of people compared to how many follow them.

yes, I see you point and I figure that is probably the why to the question of "why unfollow?". In the bigger picture, why keep a thousand followers who's upvote is worth $0.000 when you can keep a much smaller group with higher rankings whose upvote is worth something!?!

usually what has happened with me is that I follow someone, they follow me back and then a week or so later unfollow me. I look and yes they follow a very, very small group.

So why bother to follow back in the first place if your long term strategy is to maintain only a small group of high ranking followers? Some day perhaps I will see the light and find out the answer. :)

In the meantime I still like to follow those as a way of saying thanks to those who follow me

On Twitter at least, this is done on purpose. I've been over there awhile and got a chance to see how things really work. Ever see those accounts with 100,000 followers and only following like 12 people? they use software to follow people like you who follow everyone back. then after a week (when you've forgotten about them) they quietly unfollow you. Making it look like they are this very popular account.

So I started watching these "three day unfollowers" and unfollowed them. Guess what happened? They followed me back! lol Turns out they (or their software) doesn't like being unfollowed either!


source

thanks @evernoticethat. :) good info and a different slant on the same view with Twitter.

You got a new follower and I will not unfollow you.

Thanks @apricoet for the comment and the follow.

I also haveing the same thought!! #why??

like @katerinaramm, suggested, "perhaps it is a strategy" If it is I'm not sure I like it. It almost seems rude to follow someone who follows you and then discard them.

Perhaps it is a strategy f/u, same one or with the same goals as done in instagram.
People / Accounts tend to follow a bunch of other accounts, in order for them to get to broaden their audience & increase their followers.
After being followed, they unfollow and that's just about it.
I do not agree with this kind of strategy, but it often seems to work.
Not sure if this is the case with steemit, as I am brand new so just searching ...

hi @katerinaramm. I'm like you, I don't agree with the strategy and I feel offended when someone unfollows me. I wonder was it something I said. then I look and that person only follows a very small group.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @watertoncafe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by watertoncafe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70