Lost and Gain

in #newbie6 years ago

The past week has been a bit up and down on Steemit for me, or down and up to be specific, which is a much better scenario.

Two weeks ago, I decided to enter the Sndbox Summer Camp challenge, this involves producing 4 posts within a week of which one had to be a video recording in a crowded place. I didn't have any problems with the posts, except for the video which was totally out of my comfort zone, but I gave it my best shot. In the end I was quite pleased with my entry and hoped that I had done enough to get through.

When the results were announced, I went through the list of winners - my name wasn't there...... 😢😢😢😢 Being a big girl, I know life is harsh and you can't always have what you want, but it was still a disappointment. I sulked for 5 minutes, accepted the fact that it is what it is, and rewarded myself with lots of junk food. That felt a lot better. Time to move on.
P_20180321_222414.jpg

A couple of hours later, I found out that there was a problem with the tag that I used in the challenge. It was the correct tag, the spelling was correct but somehow my post didn't show up under the tag. So apart from one person who was aware of my entry, none of the other judges ever saw my post, and I was never judged. Now that's a different story. To not get through because my entry isn't good enough, is one thing. But to not get through because the judges never reviewed my work is another matter. Luckily I managed to raise this issue with the organisers, the judges reviewed my entry, and I got through!!!!

By the way, if you're interested in the Sndbox Summer Camp, you can check out this post for more information.


The other incident is a rather unfortunate one for another person, which ended up to my benefit. Something which I wish did not happen. When I first joined Steemit, I joined the Minnows Accelerator Project which does exactly what it says on the tin. In recent months they have started a Tales of the MAP room contest. Every week six member posts are curated and other members can vote on them. The winner gets 200 SP delegated for 10 days. A couple of weeks ago, one of my post was on the shortlist, but sadly I came second, short by one vote. After the contest, I sort of re-connected with MAP again and even curated the latest Tales of the MAP this week.

Last week, we found out that the account belonging to the winner was hacked, and her reputation has dropped to zero as the hacker has been sending out a lot of spam comments from her account! ☹ In the end, since she was not responding to messages about her win, the organiser decided to award the prize to me instead. So that's a second loss and gain for me within a week ~ only I wished my gain was under different circumstances.

If you're a newbie looking for support on Steemit, you can check out Minnows Accelerator Project here.


The moral of the story :

  1. Steemit is still in beta stage and there can be glitches. If you rely on a tag for a post like I did, make sure you treble check it. When I posted during the challenge, I actually did click through the tag from the my post, and noticed that my post didn't come up, however, I didn't think much of it. That nearly cost me.
  2. There has been a lot of phishing going around on Steemit lately. Never click on suspicious links, particularly from people who you don't know or with low/zero/negative reputation. Everyone says it all the time, and you can't say it enough times. So I'm saying it again NEVER CLICK ON SUSPICIOUS LINKS

Sort:  

whoa, you sure have a cool collection of kit kats!

All from Japan, they seem to do some weird flavours such as sake!!

You just hit the point
Two weeks ago, I decided to enter the Sndbox Summer Camp challenge, this involves producing 4 posts within a week of which one had to be a video recording in a crowded place.
So apart from one person who was aware of my entry, none of the other judges ever saw my post, and I was never judged.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I remember your video, great work! I missed the Summer Camp from the beginning, maybe next time. :)

That's a pity you missed it

Congrats on getting into the Summer Camp! <3 I'm glad you found out about the glitch and went for it - you got rewarded for it :-)

Thanks @soryrasa
Not quite there yet, this is just the first stage, there's still another round in May to downselect a bunch of us. Such a long journey....

Ahhh! Good! They are pushing some Steemians to greater height <3 I wish you luck!

Congraaaaatsssss then !!!!! I'll probably see you there then! ;)))

Hopefully I will get in!! Fingers crossed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60843.64
ETH 2711.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43