Intuition: Real or Make Believe?

in #new7 years ago


I believe intuition is real based on life experience. When I was a young child I would lie in my bed at night and think about questions or problems I had, before falling asleep. While asleep, I would often times dream "the answer" to my situation and would immediately know it upon waking. I never gave these answers a second thought, I just followed what I dreamed, and I was never led astray. It was always the right thing to do.

I distinctly remember becoming "aware" of this in middle school, until then it had always just been there and a part of me. I had not questioned it. I was now mature enough that I could consciously and logically look at the entire process. Logically, it did not make sense. How could my dreams give me the answers to lifes problems? Logically I could not prove how the answers could be correct or even formed. Feeling like it was abnormal, I wanted to talk to someone about it but it was the late 1980's and I thought people would think I was weird or crazy. Twilight, Supernatural, and Game of Thrones were a couple decades away. Telling people you gave youself answers in your dreams seemed different and weird. It definitely was not cool to be different! I did not know about or understand intuition.

Intuition is defined as something that a person knows or considers likely from instinct (instinctive). It is described as a feeling rather than conscious reasoning. Therefore being intuitive is having the ability to know or understand things without any proof , evidence or logical reasoning. With intuition the conscious mind thinks or plants the seed, the subconscious is subjective , il-logical and non-analytical. It cannot tell the difference between real or imagined. The subconscious does not reason independently nor does it think. The Unconscious mind is where the intuition is stored; along with automatic skills and an engine for processing information. A "gut feeling" is what intuition is often times referred to as.

Our Conscious mind plants the seed (problem), the Subconscious believes it is "real" thinking only in the present and the Unconscious mind works out the problem. When we are sleeping the Conscious mind sleeps as well but the Subconscious stays awake, it is also where all of our past experiences and beliefs are stored. The Unconscious mind is where most of the work gets done and it is the storage of automatic skills, intuition and an engine for information processing. The Subconscious is the link between the Unconscious and the Conscious mind. When we are sleeping our Subconscious is still acting as the middle guy. As the Unconscious mind processes the problem it gives the answer(s) to the Subconscious mind during our sleep. When we awake the Subconscious mind has passed it to the Conscious mind through the dream we remember upon wakening. The Subconscious mind believes it to be true so it passes it to the Conscious mind as such.

I do not have or know the scientific data, studies or research to back up my belief, but my Subconscious mind (dreams) and intuition (Unconscious mind) are able to give me (Conscious mind) the answers I need. Answers do not always come at once, especially for complicated problems but I do get them in the entirety eventually. I am able to use this same technique to help others I am connected to (or become connected to) in some way. Sadly, sometimes the answers are questioned, broken apart with logic and discarded. Seeing the repercussions of that choice can be heart wrenching.

Instead of science I have personal experience. My experience includes the process of lying down to sleep, thinking about the situation I need an answer for, going to sleep, dreaming the answer and waking the next day KNOWING the answer, ( I have others, but this time I am using my dreams), using this answer and having a positive outcome. The answer may not be what I would have wished for, but it is the answer that is needed to continue on the path of life and not stagnate. I have also ignored answers, when I questioned the logic of being able to give myself answers through dreams. By doing that, the experiences/situations were negative. Even if it was what I consciously thought I wanted, it turned out negative and I reaped the repercussions. So for anyone who wants to question with logic, they would have to admit that LOGICALLY one would rather have a positive experience/outcome rather than a negative one. By following the answers the situations were always positive, disregarding the answers the situations always ended negatively.

Psychology has a limited acceptance of intuition, but that does not make it make believe. No one can tell you that it is not real nor does it exist. I can not prove without a doubt that it does, but they can not prove without a doubt it doesn't. Most people who believe in any type of intuition or "gut feeling" are usually very spiritual. Please do not confuse that with religious, because the two are most definitely different. You can have one without the other, some do. Others are very spiritual and religious. Psychology is science and intuition to me is spirituality, so some people have a hard time mixing the two; just as others have a hard time mixing religion and science but for the most part the common human can believe in both.

While life is certainly not a fairytale with a happily ever after, the answers can however lead you farther down the rabbit hole or out onto the path of life. At this point you can move on to your next obstacle, set of questions and answers. Your intuition is always with you, it will not abandon you. You simply have to recognize it for what it is, accept it and use it. Those "gut feelings" are your mind trying to tell you something that it thinks you should know. It does not take the time to sleep and dream for it to work. You have it at your finger tips, but that is for another day.

Sort:  

I think it's real if you believe it's real :D Thanks for the post, I enjoyed reading it!

Congratulations @sandsoftime! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66